Illusions Of Fate by Kiersten WhiteIllusions Of Fate by Kiersten White

Illusions Of Fate

byKiersten White

Paperback | September 8, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.28 online 
$12.50 list price
Earn 61 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Dive into a world of enchantment and romance in this lush fantasy, which Stephanie Perkins, international bestselling author of Anna and the French Kiss, called “an absolute delight—a magical, sparkling, dangerous world with witty repartee and a romance that will light your heart on fire.” Fans of Libba Bray and Cassandra Clare will fall in love with this captivating stand-alone novel from Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of the Paranormalcy trilogy.

Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets the gorgeous, enigmatic Finn, who introduces her to the secret world of Albion's nobility. It’s a world that has everything Jessamin doesn't—power, money, status . . . and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, and the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess them. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits, can stop him.

Kiersten White is theNew York Timesbestselling author of the Paranormalcy trilogy,The Chaos of Stars, and the psychological thrillersMind GamesandPerfect Lies. She has neither magic nor a pet bird, but wants both. Kiersten lives with her family in San Diego, California.
Loading
Title:Illusions Of FateFormat:PaperbackDimensions:304 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.68 inPublished:September 8, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062135902

ISBN - 13:9780062135902

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Magic I picked this book up after reading a fantasy book in order to avoid having another reading slump, and to avoid one I usually pick a book that I would normally make fun of. Any cheesy and romance YA book usually fits the bill, but this? this was surprisingly good. There wasn't any insta-love that I couldn't bear and the main girl didn't whine as much and since Finn supposedly 'shadowed' her, there wasn't really any suspense on who was going to end up with who. Sure there were other people mentioned but there was no annoying love-triangles. Plus, I really liked the atmosphere it gave me of a somewhat dreary London. The only bad thing about it was its ending which was too rushed for me. It definitely got me out of my reading slump.
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Story While the scope implied by "Downton Abbey meets Cassandra Clare" was decidedly lacking (and thank the powers that be that there was very little Cassandra Clare-ness) this book had some powerful elements that kept me from dismissing it. Jessamin was really the reason I kept reading, because as a massive fan of strong, assertive, go-get-em' type females, I was a massive fan of Jessamin. It helped that her love interest had no interest in cowing her and instead complimented her assertive personality. She was a heroine I could easily cheer for. Other lovely things: the female friendships were awesome and healthy and Eleanor was interesting and feminine without being vapid or ditzy. She was given all the power Jessamin was, and it didn't matter that she literally invested her power in flirting and gossip, she kicked butt with them anyway. I seriously did not see the twist at the end coming. It has been a while since one caught me off guard like that. Like, wow. I was all set to complain about wasted characters and then, wow. Ok. Not going to spoil it, of course, but it was well done. Things I didn't like: For a book that was only 275 pages long, White sure tried to fit a lot in. Racism, feminism, sexism, a slapdash lesson in Victorian class society, a generous dose of magic of the kind that needs to be explained, and the threat of massive war were all stuffed into this relatively short book, with the overall effect being that she wasn't able to do a whole lot with any of these elements. Were it not for Jessamin being a walking case study of the first four (to the extent that they dominated her character) they probably wouldn't have been effective at all. I definitely would have enjoyed more of this story, so I guess what I'm saying is that it would have benefited from being longer, because as it is, it felt rushed and slightly ineffective. Overall, though, I really enjoyed it.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Illusions of fate A wonderful different read. It was so engaging and the characters were so intricate. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that loves a little bit of romance, a good plot and fantasy.
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it!! From when I started this book I loved it. This book is simply amazing and i love it, if Kiersten White makes a second I will buy it! This book is totally worth the money.
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from pretty good I liked it pretty well. Strong female character, nice female friendship. Enjoyed the witty banter of Finn and Jessa. The really obvious ties to british colonialism, and the sometimes preachy messages about the dangers of colonialism, while not incorrect, felt a bit much and out of place. I feel the same messages could have been sent in a more subtle way that blended better with the story.
Date published: 2015-05-13

Editorial Reviews

“A wicked plot twist will have readers gasping for air, and a happy ending, complete with a swoonworthy kiss, is likely to please.”