In A Dry Season by Peter RobinsonIn A Dry Season by Peter Robinson

In A Dry Season

byPeter RobinsonEditorSf

Paperback | June 6, 2006

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 90 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Not available in stores


When a boy finds a skeleton buried in a dried-up reservoir, Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks is brought in to head what seems like a routine, dead-end investigation. He finds it is anything but. With the help of Detective Sergeant Annie Cabbot, Banks uncovers long-kept secrets in a community that has resolutely concealed its past.

As Banks and Cabbot unravel the deceptive and desperate relationships of a half-century ago, suspense heightens, and the past finally bursts into the present with terrifying consequences.

Peter Robinson grew up in Leeds, Yorkshire. He emigrated to Canada in 1974 and attended York University and the University of Windsor, where he was later writer-in-residence. His many awards include five Arthur Ellis Awards, the Edgar Award for best short story, The Crime Writers’ Association’s Dagger in the Library Award, the Torgi t...
Title:In A Dry SeasonFormat:PaperbackDimensions:512 pages, 8.27 × 5.29 × 1.35 inPublished:June 6, 2006Publisher:Penguin CanadaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0143052225

ISBN - 13:9780143052227


Rated 3 out of 5 by from Robinson Rules Again “In a Dry Season” is another exceptional book that once again proves Robinson is at the top the pack when it comes to writing mysteries. When a skeleton is found in a dried up town that was once under a reservoir of water, Chief Inspector Alan Banks investigates a murder that took place during wartime in the forties. I like the way Robinson was able to write about the past from the point of view of a woman who lived during that time...and then tie it all up together in Banks’ investigation. Robinson pays great attention to detail and consistency in this book, as he does in all his Alan Banks books. Banks’ personal life is expounded upon very nicely in this book in a way that of course makes me want to greedily continue reading the next book in the series.
Date published: 2010-03-30