In Praise of Retreat: Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World

March 30, 2021|
In Praise of Retreat: Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World by Kirsteen MacLeod
$15.19 
$18.99 save 20%
Kobo ebook
Pre-order online.

about

For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.

An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent

From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves — and to their loftiest aspirations in life.

In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it’s for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.

Title:In Praise of Retreat: Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World
Format:Kobo ebook
Published:March 30, 2021
Publisher:ECW Press
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781773056548

Look for similar items by category:

Recently Viewed
|