Inheriting Edith: A Novel by Zoe Fishman

Inheriting Edith: A Novel

byZoe Fishman

Paperback | October 18, 2016

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.99

Earn 100 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A poignant breakout novel, for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat—she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.

For years, Maggie Sheets has been an invisible hand in the glittering homes of wealthy New York City clients, scrubbing, dusting, mopping, and doing all she can to keep her head above water as a single mother. Everything changes when a former employer dies leaving Maggie a staggering inheritance. A house in Sag Harbor. The catch? It comes with an inhabitant: The deceased’s eighty-two-year old mother Edith.

Edith has Alzheimer’s—or so the doctors tell her—but she remembers exactly how her daughter Liza could light up a room, or bring dark clouds in her wake. And now Liza’s gone, by her own hand, and Edith has been left—like a chaise or strand of pearls—to a poorly dressed young woman with a toddler in tow.

Maggie and Edith are both certain this arrangement will be an utter disaster. But as summer days wane, a tenuous bond forms, and Edith, who feels the urgency of her diagnosis, shares a secret that she’s held close for five decades, launching Maggie on a mission that might just lead them each to what they are looking for.

Details & Specs

Title:Inheriting Edith: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.72 inPublished:October 18, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062378740

ISBN - 13:9780062378743

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Inheriting Edith: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“A heartbreaking story about life, love, and friendship that you’ll want to devour in one sitting.”