Inheriting Edith: A Novel by Zoe FishmanInheriting Edith: A Novel by Zoe Fishman

Inheriting Edith: A Novel

byZoe Fishman

Paperback | October 18, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.69 online 
$19.99 list price save 16%
Earn 83 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A poignant breakout novel, for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat—she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.

For years, Maggie Sheets has been an invisible hand in the glittering homes of wealthy New York City clients, scrubbing, dusting, mopping, and doing all she can to keep her head above water as a single mother. Everything changes when a former employer dies leaving Maggie a staggering inheritance. A house in Sag Harbor. The catch? It comes with an inhabitant: The deceased’s eighty-two-year old mother Edith.

Edith has Alzheimer’s—or so the doctors tell her—but she remembers exactly how her daughter Liza could light up a room, or bring dark clouds in her wake. And now Liza’s gone, by her own hand, and Edith has been left—like a chaise or strand of pearls—to a poorly dressed young woman with a toddler in tow.

Maggie and Edith are both certain this arrangement will be an utter disaster. But as summer days wane, a tenuous bond forms, and Edith, who feels the urgency of her diagnosis, shares a secret that she’s held close for five decades, launching Maggie on a mission that might just lead them each to what they are looking for.

Zoe Fishman is the author of the bestsellers Inheriting Edith, Driving Lessons, Saving Ruth, and Balancing Acts. She has won several awards including an IndieNext Pick,Target¿s Breakout and Emerging Author Picks, a NY Post Pick, a Mom¿s Choice Award and a Barnes & Noble Hot Read. Zoe began her career in the editorial department of Rand...
Loading
Title:Inheriting Edith: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.72 inPublished:October 18, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062378740

ISBN - 13:9780062378743

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay... This book was a quick read. Interesting storyline of a women inheriting a previous friend/employer's house but with a hitch - the women's mother who is in the early stages of Alzheimer's disease. I found the story a little bit tedious at times and the portrayal of the young daughter of this women a little unrealistic. But for a light read the book was okay.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heartstring tugging tale 3.5 Inheriting Edith is Zoe Fishman's latest book. Maggie is a single mom who has been working as a house cleaner. One of her clients is a well known author, who treats her well. But when Liza kills herself, Maggie is stunned to find out that she has been left a house in Sag Harbor - complete with the author's eighty year old mother Edith - who has Alzheimer's. This reader was immediately engaged with Fishman's characters. I think each reader will have a favorite character, based on their stage of life. Maggie is a pull no punches woman, struggling to do her best by her little daughter, who has a voice in the story as well. (Some of her dialogue is a bit advanced for the age of the child, but out of the mouth of babes...) Edith is the character who spoke to me the most. Her struggle with memory, everyday living and putting the past right struck close to home for me. I thought Fishman did a great job portraying the everyday issues that come with Alzheimer's - from both Edith and Maggie's viewpoint. I did find Edith's friend Lillian a bit overdrawn and over the top. There aren't a lot of surprises in Inheriting Edith - this type of story has been written before. But Fishman's premise was unique and I found her exploration of motherhood, friendship, grief, aging, illness, self discovery and yes, love, to be thoughtful. I think book clubs would enjoy this novel. If you're in the mood for a heart string tugging tale, consider Inheriting Edith.
Date published: 2016-12-19

Editorial Reviews

“A heartbreaking story about life, love, and friendship that you’ll want to devour in one sitting.”