Insignia

Paperback | June 4, 2013

byS. J. Kincaid

not yet rated|write a review

"Insignia expertly combines humor with a disarming and highly realistic view of the future. The characters are real, funny, and memorable. You won't be able to put this book down."—Veronica Roth, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Divergent and Insurgent

The earth is in the middle of WWIII in Insignia, the first entry in S. J. Kincaid's fast-paced sci-fi adventure trilogy perfect for fans of Ender's Game.

The planet's natural resources are almost gone, and war is being fought to control the assets of the solar system. The enemy is winning. The salvation may be Tom Raines. Tom doesn't seem like a hero. He's a short fourteen-year-old with bad skin. But he has the virtual-reality gaming skills that make him a phenom behind the controls of the battle drones.

As a new member of the Intrasolar Forces, Tom's life completely changes. Suddenly, he's someone important. He has new opportunities, friends, and a shot at having a girlfriend. But there's a price to pay. . . .

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.84 online
$12.50 list price (save 5%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

"Insignia expertly combines humor with a disarming and highly realistic view of the future. The characters are real, funny, and memorable. You won't be able to put this book down."—Veronica Roth, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Divergent and InsurgentThe earth is in the middle of WWIII in Insignia, the first entry in S. J. Kinc...

From the Jacket

It's World War III. The enemy is winning. What if the government's secret weapon is you?Video gamer Tom Raines has been recruited for the chance of a lifetime: to train at the Pentagonal Spire, an elite military academy, in preparation for becoming a member of the Intrasolar Forces. Life at the Spire holds everything that Tom's always ...

S. J. Kincaid was born in Alabama, grew up in California, and attended high school in New Hampshire. She also interned for a politician in Washington, DC, and received degrees from universities in Illinois and Ohio, but it was while living beside a haunted graveyard in Edinburgh, Scotland, that she realized she wanted to be a writer. S...

other books by S. J. Kincaid

The Diabolic
The Diabolic

Paperback|Nov 1 2016

$15.88 online$17.99list price(save 11%)
A Small Place
A Small Place

Paperback|Apr 28 2000

$14.49 online$15.00list price
Catalyst
Catalyst

Paperback|Sep 29 2015

$12.50

see all books by S. J. Kincaid
Format:PaperbackDimensions:480 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 1.08 inPublished:June 4, 2013Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062093002

ISBN - 13:9780062093004

Customer Reviews of Insignia

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Kincaid’s debut novel, an ambitious, high-concept mélange of the teen hacker and teen spy genres provides a fast-paced and exciting tale.”