Interference by Kay HoneymanInterference by Kay Honeyman

Interference

byKay Honeyman

Hardcover | September 27, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.35 online 
$23.99 list price save 11%
Earn 107 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Friday Night Lights meets Clueless in this wonderful novel about a big election, big games, and a little romance.

As a Congressman's daughter in Washington, D.C., Kate Hamilton is good at getting what she wants -what some people might call "interfering." But when her family moves to West Texas so her dad can run in a special election, Kate encounters some difficulties that test all her political skills. None of her matchmaking efforts go according to plan. Her father's campaign gets off to a rough start. A pro tip for moving to Texas: Don't slam the star quarterback's hand in a door. And whenever Kate messes up, the irritatingly right (and handsome) Hunter Price is there to witness it. But Kate has determination and a good heart, and with all her political savvy -and a little clever interference -she'll figure out what it takes to make Red Dirt home.

Terrifically funny and sweetly romantic, with whip-crack dialogue and a wise perspective on growing up, Interference is the perfect next read for fans of Jenny Han, Elizabeth Eulberg, and Sarah Dessen.

Kay Honeyman grew up in Texas, where she followed football and politics with equal passion. Her first novel, The Fire Horse Girl, was nominated for three state awards. Kay now teaches language arts in Dallas, where she lives with her family. Please visit her website at www.kayhoneyman.com and follow her on Twitter at @kayhoneyman.
Loading
Title:InterferenceFormat:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 8.53 × 5.87 × 1.13 inPublished:September 27, 2016Publisher:SCHOLASTIC INCLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0545812321

ISBN - 13:9780545812320

Reviews

Read from the Book

"I don't know how to drive."He slammed on the brakes. "You're kidding, right?""My parents just never had time to teach me. We're always busy campaigning. And in D.C. we have this thing called public transportation."Hunter put the truck in park and got out."What are you doing?" I yelled through the open back window. "We're in the middle of the road. Get back in the car."He strolled to my door and pulled it open. "Move over.""Why?""I'm teaching you how to drive."I shook my head. "I can't.""Come on, you have to let me make up for being such an idiot," he said. I slumped against the seat and stared out the window. "No, you still don't get it. I'll hit something," I said. "Then people will find out that I hit something, and my dad will get furious, not because the car is wrecked, not because his insurance goes up, but because the talk shows will start asking him questions about teenage drivers. He'll be asked if texting on the road should be illegal, and as a father, does he support a curfew for teens. They won't ask about me, but it will be a barrage of questions that surround me, and he'll have to field every one. Then they'll start looking at Kyle Stone's driving record, which is probably perfect, and Dad will come home at the end of the day, and I'll get that look. The look you saw today." Hunter pointed out the front window. "What are you going to hit?" I looked across an empty desert to the horizon. The sky stretched for miles in front of me. It felt more part of the landscape than the sky in D.C., like you could touch it. "And if it helps," Hunter said, "Kyle drives like a blind monkey."

Editorial Reviews

Praise for The Fire Horse Girl* " Her voice, authentic and consistent, transcends this historical fiction/adventure/love story to embrace every young woman who has ever searched for the real person hidden under the veneer of society's expectations." -Booklist, starred review" Historical details create a strong sense of setting, and readers will recognize (well before Jade Moon does) that her inner fire is an asset, and that she's much more than the sign under which she was born." -Publishers Weekly " In a defiant first-person voice, Jade Moon describes the desperate lives of Chinese immigrant women as she relies on her Fire Horse persona to save herself... Perilous, page-turning adventure in old Chinatown." -Kirkus Reviews