Invisible Country: Four Polish Plays by Teresa MurjasInvisible Country: Four Polish Plays by Teresa Murjas

Invisible Country: Four Polish Plays

EditorTeresa Murjas

Paperback | March 15, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 188 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 3-5 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


The late nineteenth and early twentieth century marked a tumultuous period in Poland’s history, with artists and writers working under difficult sociopolitical conditions. This book contains the first English- language translations of four plays by Polish writers in the modernist tradition: Snow by Stanislaw Przybyszewski, In a Small House by Tadeusz Rittner, Ashanti by Wlodzimierz Perzynski, and All the Same by Leopold Staff. Well-chosen and carefully annotated, these translations provide important insight into this underexplored area of Polish dramatic history and practice and facilitate greater understanding of its role in the development of European theater. Also included is a broad discussion of the characteristics of translation for the theater.

Teresa Murjas is a lecturer in theater at the University of Reading.  
Title:Invisible Country: Four Polish PlaysFormat:PaperbackDimensions:295 pages, 9 × 7 × 0.9 inPublished:March 15, 2013Publisher:Intellect LtdLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1841504149

ISBN - 13:9781841504148

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents


Ashanti (1906)
In a Small House (1904)
Snow (1902)
All the Same (1912)

Editorial Reviews

“Murjas aims to achieve translations that stand at the intersection of linguistic and cultural faithfulness to the original with cultural accessibility for a twenty-first-century audience.”