Iris and Walter and the Field Trip by Elissa Haden GuestIris and Walter and the Field Trip by Elissa Haden Guest

Iris and Walter and the Field Trip

byElissa Haden GuestIllustratorChristine Davenier

Paperback | October 8, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info

$5.99

Earn 30 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Iris and Walter can't wait for their class field trip to the aquarium. They'll get to sit together on the bus and visit scary sharks, shimmery angelfish, and, best of all, penguins. The aquarium is everything they had hoped for-until suddenly Walter gets lost! It's a good thing his best friend, Iris, knows what to do! Here are four chapters of easy reading pleasure in this new Level 3 Green Light Readers edition featuring sweet and sensitive illustrations by Christine Davenier.
Elissa Haden Guest has written ten books about Iris and Walter. She lives in San Francisco, California. Visit her website at www.elissahadenguest.com . Christine Davenier lives in Paris. She has also illustrated the Very Fairy Princess books by actress Julie Andrews and her daughter Emma Walton Hamilton. ...
Loading
Title:Iris and Walter and the Field TripFormat:PaperbackDimensions:44 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.13 inPublished:October 8, 2013Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0544106652

ISBN - 13:9780544106659

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

When I finished Sara Baume's new novel I immediately felt sad that I could not send it in the post to the late John Berger. He, too, would have loved it and found great joy in its honesty, its agility, its beauty, its invention. Baume is a writer of outstanding grace and style. She writes beyond the time we live in." - Colum McCann "After a remarkable and deservedly award-winning debut, here is a novel of uniqueness, wonder, recognition, poignancy, truth-speaking, quiet power, strange beauty and luminous bedazzlement. Once again, I've been Baumed." - Joseph O'Connor "Unflinching, at times uncomfortable, and always utterly compelling, A Line Made By Walking is among the best accounts of grief, loneliness, and depression that I have ever read. Every word of it rings true, the truth of hard-won knowledge wrested from the abyss. Shot through with a wild, yearning melancholy, it is nevertheless mordantly witty. It felt, to me, kindred to Olivia Laing's The Lonely City: not just on a superficial level, a young woman seeking solace in art, but in the urgent depth of its quest to understand and articulate what it means to make art, and what art might mean for the individual, lost and lonely; how it might bring us out of, or back to, ourselves." - Lucy Caldwell "Fascinating, because of the cumulative power of the precise, pleasingly rhythmic sentences, and the unpredictable intelligence of the narrator's mind . . . [In A Line Made by Walking ] there is a reminder of the beauty that can be found when you allow yourself to look slowly and sadly at the world." - Guardian "Baume writes lovely prose about unimaginable pain. A clear-eyed, beautiful rendering of a woman struggling against despair." - Kirkus Reviews "Fans of Colum McCann and Richard Russo will adore this masterful and meditative novel that doesn't emphasize plot over atmosphere." - Booklist, starred review "A spellbinding meditation on art and life." - Bookseller "