Islamic Spain, 1250 to 1500 by L. P. HarveyIslamic Spain, 1250 to 1500 by L. P. Harvey

Islamic Spain, 1250 to 1500

byL. P. Harvey

Paperback | November 1, 1992

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 229 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


This is a richly detailed account of Muslim life throughout the kingdoms of Spain, from the fall of Seville, which signaled the beginning of the retreat of Islam, to the Christian reconquest.

"Harvey not only examines the politics of the Nasrids, but also the Islamic communities in the Christian kingdoms of the peninsula. This innovative approach breaks new ground, enables the reader to appreciate the situation of all Spanish Muslims and is fully vindicated. . . . An absorbing and thoroughly informed narrative."—Richard Hitchcock, Times Higher Education Supplement

"L. P. Harvey has produced a beautifully written account of an enthralling subject."—Peter Linehan, The Observer
L. P. Harvey was, until his retirement, head of the Department of Spanish and Spanish American Studies, King's College, University of London.
Title:Islamic Spain, 1250 to 1500Format:PaperbackDimensions:386 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.9 inPublished:November 1, 1992Publisher:University of Chicago Press

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0226319628

ISBN - 13:9780226319629

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

1. Geographical Environment and Historical Context
2. The Rise of the Banu'l-Ahmar
3. Enclaves and Anomalies
4. Mudejar Status: The Teachings of the Islamic Lawyers; Christian Attitudes and Doctrines
5. Mudejar Communities: Castile
6. Mudejar Legal Codes from Castile
7. Mudejar Communities: Aragon
8. Mudejar Communities: Valencia
9. Mudejar Communities: Navarre
10. Muhammad II (1273-1302)
11. Muhammad III (1302-1309)
12. Nasr (1309-1314); Isma'il (1314-1325); Muhammad IV (1325-1333)
13. Yusuf I (1333-1354)
14. Muhammad V (1354-1391): A Reign Interrupted by Those of Isma'il and Muhammad VI
15. Yusuf II (Abu'L-Hajjaj) (1391-1392); Muhammad VII (1392-1408); Yusuf III (1408-1417)
16. The Interlocking Reigns of Muhammad VIII, Muhammad IX, Muhammad X, Muhammad XI, Yusuf IV, and Yusuf V (1417-1452)
17. Sa'd (1453-1464) and Abu'l-Hasan 'Ali (1464-1482)
18. The Final Decade of Granadan Independence (1482-1491)
19. All Mudejars Now: Islamic Spain (1492-1500)