Who I Kissed by Janet GurtlerWho I Kissed by Janet Gurtler

Who I Kissed

byJanet Gurtler

Paperback | October 1, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.99

Earn 70 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Janet Gurtler's books have been hailed as just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult" (Booklist) and "reminiscent of Judy Blume" (RT Book Reviews). Her latest contemporary YA novel is by turns gripping, heart-wrenching, and joyous as one teen girl has to find the courage to carry on after a devastating tragedy. She never thought a kiss could kill? As the new girl in town, Samantha just wants to fit in. Being invited to a party byher fellow swim team members is her big chance? especially since Zee will be there. He hasn't made a secret of checking her out at the pool. Sam didn't figure on Alex being there too. She barely even knows him. And she certainly didn't plan to kiss him. It just kind of happened. And then Alex dies-right in her arms? Consumed by guilt and grief, Sam has no idea what to do or where to turn when everyone at school blames her. What follows is Sam's honest, raw, and unforgettable journey to forgive herself and find balance-maybe even love-in a life that suddenly seems to be spinning out of control. "
Janet Gurtler lives in Calgary, Canada with her husband and son and a puppy blessed with cuteness rather than brains. Janet does not live in an Igloo or play hockey, but she does love maple syrup and says eh" a lot. Visit janetgurtler.blogspot.com."
Loading
Title:Who I KissedFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.9 inPublished:October 1, 2012Publisher:SourcebooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1402270542

ISBN - 13:9781402270543

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting Interesting story concept. I really felt the sadness and guilt coming off of Sam and I felt the author really portrayed her emotions and actions well. I guess the reason I didn't give it more stars is that the dialogue and writing were a little stilted.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good It was unique and kind of sad actually. But I would like to see more from it, like more character development.
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It! This book was such a good read! A story that many can relate to. 
Date published: 2014-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Honest and Heartbreaking The Good Stuff A sweet and realistic story of grief, guilt, family, relationships and forgiveness As a mom I found it a thought provoking and challenging read at times. I won't lie I spent much of the story silently weeping. Made me think could I forgive someone who might have inadvertently killed my child. Made me think about my serious consumption of peanut butter and how I will be so much more vigilant about cleaning up, brushing my teeth and washing my hands when I consume. Again as a Mom my heart went out to Sam and her grief and wanted to just give her a great big hug (also as a Mom it makes you think about your own child in the situation) Relevant to the world our kids live in with cyber-bullying and drinking and relationships. Author isn't naive about how kids deal - never sugar coats anything and isn't overly preachy so kids will relate No archetypical characters - these people will remind you of someone you know - again YA readers will relate to (And us old mom's will appreciate that the adult characters aren't evil, totally ignore their kids or stupid - very refreshing thank you) The scenes between Sam and Alex's family just broke my heart well written and intriguing Enjoyed the scenes between Aunt Allie and Sam's Dad Great for a class discussion or teen book club (Not to mention one for mom's) nice touches of humour at the right spots Added this to my Staff Picks at work I loved it so much The Not So Good Stuff Don't read in public unless you enjoy people staring at you while you sniff and wipe the tears from your eyes Would have liked to seen some repercussions or mentions of punishment for those who were exhibiting bully behaviour online (Sorry its a mom thing) Cover doesn't do the brilliant story justice Favorite Quotes/Passages "Hold out your hand," he says in a deep, rich voice that sounds like he gargles daily with sexy juice." "Of course not," Aunt Allie says. "That would require actual human compassion." Both of them stare off into space. "At least we don't have to worry about me being spoiled by my grandparents," I say. Aunt Allie shakes her head and turns to me and smiles. "That we don't." "She's working on a full house cleanse to rid us of negative energy. Dad's been holding his tongue about it, mainly because I think he appreciates the free cleaning." "It's not fair." I whisper. "He had so much to live for." "He was just a kid," my dad says softly. "It was a mistake. God knows we all make them." Who Should/Shouldn't Read Probably not for someone who only enjoys fast paced dystopian, paranormal reads (Nothing wrong with that though) Other than that I would say this can be enjoyed by anyone of any age (probably would appeal more to girls than boys - yes I know that is sexist - but probably true) Excellent for someone who is dealing with grief - they will relate to Sam and her friends and families honest & realistic portrayal of guilt and grief A must have for every public and school library FYI - parents & educators - there is a sex scene but it is tasteful, realistic and honest - please kids are going to have sex, help them make sure they are protected - don't be naive and think that they are not going to do it (sorry sometimes I go all preachy and high horsey) 5 Dewey's I purchased this at Janet's launch at Chapters Shawnessy where I work - she was lovely and the book cookies were a nummy breakfast the next morning
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Courtesy of Reading In Winter Thank you to Raincoast Books for sending me a copy of this book for review! Being someone who grew up with absolutely no allergies, I was eager to start reading Janet Gurtler’s book, Who I Kissed, which involves a peanut allergy. I’ve heard of people with severe allergies to peanuts and it’s a scary thing! While people have a right to eat whatever they want, I still find myself being cautious when eating in smaller spaces, like in an airplane. I can’t even imagine what it would be like to have a child with a severe peanut allergy – obviously parents can’t hide their children in the home forever. The characters in this book really made the story. I loved how the main character, Sam, was so determined to be a great swimmer and really had her life on track. It was interesting to see how one thing – albeit a BIG thing – seemed to completely derail her life. I really liked Sam’s character. She went through a lot and was very brave. She’s one of those characters who I really wanted to relate to, but couldn’t because of the situation. I can’t even imagine what it would be like to kiss a boy and have him die in my arms – but to think that it might be possible. Peanut allergies are severe – could they be that severe? This book deals with the aftermath of Alex’s death – his death shouldn’t be a surprise when reading this novel because it’s written in the synopsis. It was interesting to see what people thought of Sam after the death, and how they coped and got on with their lives. I did like how there was more going on, other than the coping from Alex’s death – there was romance and friendship, as well as family relationships. We learn that Sam’s mother died a long time ago and her death is something her and her father need to talk about. One thing I could have had less of was the sleazy Casper character (who I thought was shady from the beginning), but between him and Kaitlyn, there were plenty of people to dislike. Of course, that being said, there were times when I thought there were just a few too many things going on in the story and I really wanted to focus to remain on Alex and the awareness of peanut allergies. Another thing I was concerned about in this novel was the fact that it was never talked about how there were TWO people involved in Alex’s death – Sam and ALEX. I thought at one point someone should mention the fact that Alex also kissed Sam and that he should also be in the blame. Yes, I know he died, but there were still TWO people. A very quick read, but one that should keep your interest the whole way through, Who I Kissed is a book that will keep you thinking when you finish reading it.
Date published: 2012-10-09

Editorial Reviews

"Rich in characterization, Gurtler's novel wrestles with some serious issues...Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult.' - Booklist praise for I'm Not Her