John Carter: Adventures on Mars Collection (Illustrated) (Five "John Carter of Mars" novels in one volume!): A Princess of Mars, Gods of Mars, Warlord by Edgar Rice Burroughs

John Carter: Adventures on Mars Collection (Illustrated) (Five "John Carter of Mars" novels in one…

byEdgar Rice Burroughs

Kobo ebook | February 7, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


John Carter of Mars is a series of books written by Edgar Rice Burroughs. It is currently being turned into a film produced by Pixar and directed by Andrew Stanton (director of the critically acclaimed WALL-E and Finding Nemo)

The first three books in the series were told from the point of view of John Carter; many books followed the first three, but frequently were written in third person. The entire series is eleven volumes and titled the “Barsoom” series.

Exclusively in this collection:

- Featuring brand new, original artwork and illustrations
- Book One: A Princess of Mars
- Book Two: The Gods of Mars
- Book Three: The Warlord of Mars
- Book Four: Thuvia, Maid of Mars
- Book Five: The Chessmen of Mars

When John Carter goes to sleep in a mysterious cave in the Arizona dessert, he wakes up on the planet Mars. There he meets the fifteen foot tall, four armed, green men of mars, with horse-like dragons, and watch dogs like oversized frogs with ten legs. His adventures continue as he battles great white apes, fights plant men, defies the Goddess of Death, and braves the frozen wastes of Polar Mars. In other adventures, the Prince of Helium encounters a race of telepathic warriors, the Princess of Helium confronts the headless men of Mars, Captain Ulysses Paxton learns the secret of human immortality, and Tan Hadron's idealized notion of love is tested as he fights off gigantic spiders and cannibals.

Edgar Rice Burroughs vision of Mars was loosely inspired by astronomical speculation of the time, especially that of Percival Lowell, who saw the red planet as a formerly Earth-like world now becoming less hospitable to life due to its advanced age. Burroughs predicted the invention of homing devices, radar, sonar, autopilot, collision detection, television, teletype, genetic cloning, living organ transplants, antigravity propulsion, and many other concepts that were well ahead of his time. The books in the Barsoom series were an early inspiration to many, including science fiction authors Robert A. Heinlein, Arthur C. Clarke and Ray Bradbury, they influenced renowned scientist Carl Sagan in his quest for extraterrestrial life, and were instrumental in the making of James Cameron's Avatar, and George Lucas' Star Wars.

Title:John Carter: Adventures on Mars Collection (Illustrated) (Five "John Carter of Mars" novels in one…Format:Kobo ebookPublished:February 7, 2013Publisher:Edgar Rice BurroughsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title: