John Glassco: Selected Poems with Three Notes by John GlasscoJohn Glassco: Selected Poems with Three Notes by John Glassco

John Glassco: Selected Poems with Three Notes

byJohn Glassco

Paperback | January 1, 1997

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 75 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


For this collection John Glassco won the Governor General's Award in 1971. He intended it as a definitive selection of his best poetry which includes his frequently anthologized poems such as "The Death of Don Quixote", "Brummell at Calais", "Needham Cemetery" and "Quebec Farmhouse".

Glassco's original selection is presented here in its entirety with additional material and excerpts drawn from his later published work and his translations, together with three short prose pieces dealing with the poetic process, poetry readings and the art of translation.

A craftsman of unusual care, Glassco was known for his sensitivity and wit as well as for his forthright treatment of love, the nostalgia occasioned by the passage of time and the loss of that which we cherish.

John Glassco (1909-1981) published two books of poetry, The Deficit Made Flesh (1958) and A Point of Sky (1964) in addition to Selected Poems (1971). He also wrote Memoirs of Montparnasse (1970 & 1995), a popular account of his days in Paris in the 1920s. Well-known for his skill as a translator, Glassco edited (and translated in part)...
Title:John Glassco: Selected Poems with Three NotesFormat:PaperbackDimensions:128 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.35 inPublished:January 1, 1997Publisher:Dundurn

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0919614620

ISBN - 13:9780919614628

Look for similar items by category:


Editorial Reviews

"Presented in chronological order, the poems show a movement from the rough, insistent voice of a wandering youth to the more reflective discourse of an older man who describes events that happen around him with regret, concern, and delight. This is an enjoyable collection of short poems."

- Michael Power, Canadian Book Review Annual