Joyride

Hardcover | November 24, 2016

byAnna Banks

not yet rated|write a review

Who says opposites don't attract?

It's been several years since Carly Vega's parents were deported. Carly lives with her older brother, studies hard, and works the graveyard shift at a convenience store to earn enough to bring her parents back from Mexico.

Arden Moss used to be the star quarterback at school. He used to date popular blondes and have fun pranking with his older sister. But now all that's changed, and Arden needs a new accomplice. Especially one his father, the town sheriff, will disapprove.

All Carly wants, at first, is to stay under the radar and do what her family expects. All Arden wants is to not do what his family expects. When their paths cross, they each realize they've been living according to the wishes of others. Carly and Arden's journey toward their true hearts - and one another-- is funny, romantic, and sometimes harsh. Just like real life.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$5.00 online
$20.50 list price (save 75%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Who says opposites don't attract?It's been several years since Carly Vega's parents were deported. Carly lives with her older brother, studies hard, and works the graveyard shift at a convenience store to earn enough to bring her parents back from Mexico.Arden Moss used to be the star quarterback at school. He used to date popular blon...

Anna Banks is the author of the New York Times-bestselling Syrena Legacy --OF POSEIDON, OF TRITON, OF NEPTUNE. She lives in Crestview, on the Florida Panhandle, with her husband and their daughter.

other books by Anna Banks

Nemesis
Nemesis

Hardcover|Oct 4 2016

$18.48 online$24.99list price(save 26%)
Of Poseidon
Of Poseidon

Paperback|Apr 30 2013

$10.51 online$12.99list price(save 19%)
Of Triton
Of Triton

Paperback|May 13 2014

$9.75 online$10.99list price(save 11%)
see all books by Anna Banks
Format:HardcoverDimensions:288 pages, 8.52 × 5.76 × 1.1 inPublished:November 24, 2016Publisher:Feiwel & FriendsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1250039614

ISBN - 13:9781250039613

Customer Reviews of Joyride

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"Good girl Carly and popular Arden combine forces in order to live more authentic lives in this angsty contemporary novel. Carly's parents have been deported to Mexico and she works nights to support her family. Arden uses his bad-boy reputation to pull off grand, sometimes disastrous pranks to salve the pain of his sister's death. Carly is not Arden's type, at first-and Carly knows she is too busy to bother with him... With a dash of romance, Banks's book tackles the issues of human smuggling, immigration, and a rogue police officer. It could be too much for any young adult novel, but buoyed by irresistible characters, sincere dialogue, and robust prose, this is one ride readers will all want to take. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Deb Caletti will flock to the author's fan pool. Relevant, risky, and romantic, this work is a clear standout in today's contemporary YA niche." -School Library Journal"Banks respects her readers by penning an engaging narrative that deepens her central love story... As Carly and Arden open themselves to love and draw closer together, the book's message comes through loud and clear: personal growth can lead us toward unlikely destinies." -Booklist"Writing in the present tense and switching between first-person for Carly and third-person for Arden, Banks offers a book brimming with original humor and mostly complex characterization even as she tackles race and immigration issues. Both a heart-stopper and heart-tugger." -Kirkus Reviews"...[has] a great deal of charm." -Publishers Weekly on Syrena Legacy".intriguing." -School Library Journal on Syrena Legacy"A refreshing story filled with vibrant characters, feisty humor, and an irresistible romance. This story of star-crossed lovers in a luscious coastal setting brings new life to the age-old myth of merfolk and left me swooning for more!" -Marissa Meyer, New York Times-bestselling author of Cinder on Syrena Legacy