Joyride by Anna BanksJoyride by Anna Banks

Joyride

byAnna Banks

Hardcover | November 24, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$6.00 online 
$20.50 list price
Earn 30 plum® points

Out of stock online

Available in stores

about

Who says opposites don't attract?

It's been several years since Carly Vega's parents were deported. Carly lives with her older brother, studies hard, and works the graveyard shift at a convenience store to earn enough to bring her parents back from Mexico.

Arden Moss used to be the star quarterback at school. He used to date popular blondes and have fun pranking with his older sister. But now all that's changed, and Arden needs a new accomplice. Especially one his father, the town sheriff, will disapprove.

All Carly wants, at first, is to stay under the radar and do what her family expects. All Arden wants is to not do what his family expects. When their paths cross, they each realize they've been living according to the wishes of others. Carly and Arden's journey toward their true hearts - and one another-- is funny, romantic, and sometimes harsh. Just like real life.

Anna Banks is the author of the New York Times-bestselling Syrena Legacy --OF POSEIDON, OF TRITON, OF NEPTUNE. She lives in Crestview, on the Florida Panhandle, with her husband and their daughter.
Loading
Title:JoyrideFormat:HardcoverDimensions:288 pages, 8.52 × 5.76 × 1.1 inPublished:November 24, 2016Publisher:Feiwel & FriendsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1250039614

ISBN - 13:9781250039613

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from i enjoyed this! This was a cute stand alone, although it wasn't as funny as I thought it might be it was definitely intense! Anna Banks will take you on a joyride of her own!
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from i enjoyed this This was a cute stand alone, although it wasn't as funny as I thought it might be it was definitely intense! Anna Banks will take you on a joyride of her own!
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Review from Esther's Ever After For me, contemporary books are the exact type of book I need when I'm in certain moods and Joyride fulfilled my need for a compelling story with characters that I liked and cared about. It's a good book, although it didn't satisfy me completely. Joyride is largely about overcoming adversity, and this was highlighted particularly well in the story. Reasons to Read: 1. Two different perspectives: Carly and Arden have lived completely different lives, so they each bring their own unique perspective to the story. It's interesting to see how differently they perceive the same events. And the way the book is set up, we end up with two characters who come together and the contrast between them is so stark. But that's what makes it so great watching them grow closer together. It's especially neat since they truly start off as friends first, and that really develops over time into something more. 2. Arden's Uncle Cletus: It might seem strange to include Uncle Cletus as a reason to read Joyride, but it's absolutely true because Cletus is such a fantastic character. He's interesting and both a litle bit sad and amusing. But I really loved seeing how much he cared about both Arden and Carly, and how far he was willing to go to care for them. It's rare to see a secondary character with so much detail like this, but it was done really well and endeared his character and this book to me! Carly is a standout character. She's honest and down-to-earth, and she's used to getting her hands dirty. I loved all of these things about her, and she was a great protagonist. It's rare to have a story where the two main characters face such significant obstacles. But these are real issues that people experience in real life, so Joyride's also an important book in that sense. But there was just something lacking for me. For such serious issues, they weren't addressed very seriously. And the climax, while exciting, didn't strike me as a probable or likely solution given Carly's character. I tend to be pickier with contemporary books so it takes an extraordinary book to really stay with me, and while I enjoyed Joyride it isn't one that stayed with me after I finished reading it. ARC received from publisher for review; no other compensation was received.
Date published: 2015-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun and enjoyable to read Carly Vega has been living with her brother ever since their parents were deported. She’s been doing her part to stay out of trouble, get good grades, and earn money by working the night shift at a convenience store. Arden Moss blames the death of his sister Amber on his father, the town sheriff, and is doing everything in his power to do the opposite of what his father wants him to do. Their paths cross in an unexpected way and Arden finds himself wanting to make Carly his partner in pranks while Carly just wants to stay out of the spotlight. This was an easy and fast read, under 300 pages, and turned out to be cute and fun, with some action and tension thrown in closer to the end. I had expected the pranks to play a bigger role in the plot but they worked well within the story and provided some great character interactions. Carly and Arden were both interesting characters and so opposite of each other. I liked seeing ho they interacted and how they slowly started to become friends into something more. I felt for both of them. Carly was overworked and stressed all the time and no one in her family seemed to care that she wanted to stay in school. She did everything asked of her except quit school and still it wasn’t enough for them. Arden, at first, came across as a bit of a spoiled jerk who just wanted to goof off but once his reasons were revealed, it made a lot of sense. He was angry at the world and it was hard to blame him. Together, they were a good influence on each other. Arden needed Carly’s determination and work ethic to rub off on him and Carly needed his carefree attitude to help her relax. It was great to see them pulling their pranks and just being silly and having fun. I did find the switching of the POVs a little awkward. Carly’s POVs were in first person and Arden’s were in third person. Their voices were quite different from each other so it didn’t make a lot of sense for the change. It meant the flow of the writing stopped at each new chapter and made it hard to be completely lost in the book. Family also played a huge role in the plot, even with a lot of the members of both Carly and Arden’s families not being present. Both of them had huge expectations from their families, were struggling with their current situation. Carly’s brother Julio was a more sympathetic character but there were definitely times I didn’t agree with him. Arden’s father was a racist and most of the time I wanted to kick him. Hard. Once the families got more involved, that was where the tension and action really started to pick up. The last part of the book flew by. It was definitely a fun and enjoyable read. I just wish I had been able to get lost in it more than I did.
Date published: 2015-06-24

Editorial Reviews

"Good girl Carly and popular Arden combine forces in order to live more authentic lives in this angsty contemporary novel. Carly's parents have been deported to Mexico and she works nights to support her family. Arden uses his bad-boy reputation to pull off grand, sometimes disastrous pranks to salve the pain of his sister's death. Carly is not Arden's type, at first-and Carly knows she is too busy to bother with him... With a dash of romance, Banks's book tackles the issues of human smuggling, immigration, and a rogue police officer. It could be too much for any young adult novel, but buoyed by irresistible characters, sincere dialogue, and robust prose, this is one ride readers will all want to take. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Deb Caletti will flock to the author's fan pool. Relevant, risky, and romantic, this work is a clear standout in today's contemporary YA niche." -School Library Journal"Banks respects her readers by penning an engaging narrative that deepens her central love story... As Carly and Arden open themselves to love and draw closer together, the book's message comes through loud and clear: personal growth can lead us toward unlikely destinies." -Booklist"Writing in the present tense and switching between first-person for Carly and third-person for Arden, Banks offers a book brimming with original humor and mostly complex characterization even as she tackles race and immigration issues. Both a heart-stopper and heart-tugger." -Kirkus Reviews"...[has] a great deal of charm." -Publishers Weekly on Syrena Legacy".intriguing." -School Library Journal on Syrena Legacy"A refreshing story filled with vibrant characters, feisty humor, and an irresistible romance. This story of star-crossed lovers in a luscious coastal setting brings new life to the age-old myth of merfolk and left me swooning for more!" -Marissa Meyer, New York Times-bestselling author of Cinder on Syrena Legacy