Judges of the Supreme Court of India: 1950-1989 by George H. GadboisJudges of the Supreme Court of India: 1950-1989 by George H. Gadbois

Judges of the Supreme Court of India: 1950-1989

byGeorge H. Gadbois

Hardcover | December 31, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info

$78.75 online 
$87.50 list price save 10%
Earn 394 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Part of the Law in India series, this study presents biographies of 93 judges of the Supreme Court of India who served the Court from its inception in 1950 to 1989. The essays are based on the author's interviews with 68 judges. The author travelled extensively for fieldwork for this studybetween 1983 and 1988. For the deceased judges, the author met and interviewed their widows and children along with their close friends and relatives. The essays embrace the entire lives of these judges and a complete list of each judge's publications, including the official reports prepared by him. The work examines the criteria for selection of judges, its political context, and the relationship between the Chief Justice of India and theexecutive. Analysing the socio-economic background of the judges with respect to factors such as father's occupation, caste, economic status, religion, education, professional career, participation in politics, age, tenure, etc., this is a detailed study of the judges who served the court for aperiod of around forty years. This first-of-its-kind book provides a hands-on account of the first forty years of the Supreme Court of India.
George H. Gadbois, Jr is former Professor at the University of Kentucky, USA.
Title:Judges of the Supreme Court of India: 1950-1989Format:HardcoverDimensions:456 pages, 8.46 × 5.51 × 0 inPublished:December 31, 2011Publisher:Oxford University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0198070616

ISBN - 13:9780198070610


Table of Contents

AcknowledgementsIntroductionPart One: Ninety-Three Judges1. The Kania Court (1950-1)2. The Sastri Court (1951-4)3. The Mahajan Court (1954)4. The Mukherjea Court (1954-6)5. The Das Court (1956-9)6. The Sinha Court (1959-1964)7. The Gajendragadkar Court (1964-6)8. The Sarkar Court (1966)9. The Subba Rao Court (1966-7)10. The Wanchoo Court (1967-8)11. The Hidayatullah Court (1968-70)12. The Shah Court (1970-1)13. The Sikri Court (1971-3)14. The Ray Court (1973-7)15. The Beg Court (1977-8)16. The Chandrachud Court (1978-85)17. The Bhagwati Court (1985-6)18. The Pathak Court (1986-9)Part Two: A Collective PortraitPart Three: The Archetypal JudgeAppendix I: Judges of the Supreme Court of India: 1950-1989Appendix II: Chief Justices of India: 1950-1989GlossaryBibliographyIndex