Julia Vanishes by Catherine EganJulia Vanishes by Catherine Egan

Julia Vanishes

byCatherine Egan

Paperback | May 2, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.50 online 
$14.99 list price save 9%
Earn 68 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

"An exciting novel with magic and serial killers.... One of the hottest books coming out."—Hypable.com

Fans of Marie Lu, Leigh Bardugo, and Kristin Cashore will be captivated by this stunning first book in a must-have new fantasy trilogy about a spy who can vanish at will and who discovers that monsters, mystery, and magic are also lurking—just out of sight.

Julia has the unusual ability to be . . . unseen. Not invisible, exactly. Just beyond most people's senses. 

It's a dangerous trait in a city that has banned all forms of magic and drowns witches in public Cleansings. But it's a useful trait for a thief and a spy. And Julia has learned—crime pays.

She's being paid very well indeed to infiltrate the grand house of Mrs. Och and report back on the odd characters who live there and the suspicious dealings that take place behind locked doors. 

But what Julia discovers shakes her to the core. She certainly never imagined that the traitor in the house would turn out to be . . . her

Murder, thievery, witchcraft, betrayal--Catherine Egan builds a dangerous world where her fierce and flawed heroine finds that even a girl who can vanish can't walk away from her own worst deeds.
CATHERINE EGAN grew up in Vancouver, Canada. Since then, she has lived on a volcanic island in Japan (which erupted while she was there and sent her hurtling straight into the arms of her now husband), in Tokyo, Kyoto, and Beijing, on an oil rig in the middle of Bohai Bay, then in New Jersey, and now in New Haven, Connecticut.   She is...
Loading
Title:Julia VanishesFormat:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 8.2 × 5.6 × 0.8 inPublished:May 2, 2017Publisher:PRH Canada Young ReadersLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0385684673

ISBN - 13:9780385684675

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from A For the Lover of Books Review Number of pages: 384 Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1 Rating (out of five stars): 3.5 This is such a strange and unique little book. Witches perform spells with pen and ink, ancient creature protect a book that can take the form of anything, and a girl by the name of Julia has the strange ability to become unseen, which is not the same as becoming invisible. I’m not really sure what I expected from this odd story about a vanishing girl, but I was pleasantly surprised. The world is incredibly intriguing, the most interesting part being the magic rules. The witches in Julia Vanishes are required to write down their spells in order to perform them. I really enjoyed seeing this different take on witches, since no one seems to ever come up with new mythology and rules to surround already established magical beings. If you read a book with witches, you are pretty much guaranteed to get a person who can do magic by waving a stick. There are also strange creatures, and three distinct religions, something not often explored in YA fantasy. It was also interesting to have the main character start the book in a relationship, another thing you don’t often see in YA. The book also isn’t romance centric. The relationship is mentioned periodically, yet it is not vital to understanding the plot. I think where Julia Vanishes loses some points is in the characters and emotional impact. I didn’t really care about Julia and her band of misfits; I simply wanted to know more about the world. It takes away from the emotional aspect of reading when you couldn’t be less concerned with what will happen to the main character. Overall, I give Julia Vanishes 3.5 stars out of 5 for having a unique world and intriguing plot.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good! This was a solid fantasy that honestly could have been put in the regular sci-fi/fantasy section at the book store. Though the main character is a teenager, this book does not read like typical YA. It is sophisticated in that it explores themes of betrayal, what defines evil, can people change, and what is love. It starts off a bit slow, but really builds momentum once the world has been set up and the main characters have been introduced. I also really like what the author did with the romance element of the story - not typical of YA and a greatly appreciated breath of fresh air. I will absolutely read book two in this trilogy when it comes out.
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantasy, Magic & Witches Julia spies. Julia steals. Julia vanishes. In the first installment of the Witch's Child trilogy, Catherine Egan introduces readers to the kingdom of Frayne, where magic is forbidden and witches are condemned to death by drowning in public Cleansings. I don't know about you, but Julia Vanishes was one of those books I'd heard virtually nothing about until I sat down and read it. I didn't even realize it was a fantasy book at first! I might have been a little confused initially, but it wasn't too long before I found my bearings and eagerly turned the pages, utterly enthralled by this gritty fantasy world. Julia has a curious ability to be unseen. It's not that she becomes invisible, but rather, she enters another plane of existence just beyond everyone else's senses. It's a handy gift when you're a thief and spy, especially when Julia's mysterious employer has sent her to the grand home of Mrs. Och to collect information on its peculiar inhabitants. Posing as a housemaid, Julia soon realizes she's entered a house of carefully guarded secrets... Cynical and disillusioned, there are only three things Julia truly cares about: Dek, her older brother; Wyn, her first love; and money. Maybe that's why she loves her life of crime so much—it pays well. Julia can never forget the hardship she and her brother faced after their mother suddenly died and their father disappeared, and she'll forever be grateful to Esme for taking them in. Life is far from boring for Julia and her family of criminals and misfits, but she may just be in over her head this time, for she's unwittingly been swept into a power struggle between ancient beings who are more myth than memory. Fraught with danger and intrigue, I'm absolutely glad I took a chance on Catherine Egan's Julia Vanishes. And I have a very warm feeling the sequel will be even better, digging so much more into the rich lore and world-building that this book has just scratched on the surface. We're just on the cusp of reaching something that could be truly epic in the future! If you love anything involving YA fantasy, magic, and witches, then you'll definitely want to add Catherine Egan's Julia Vanishes to your TBR. ** I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. **
Date published: 2016-06-10

Editorial Reviews

PRAISE FOR Julia Vanishes:"Egan nimbly builds a fantasy world resembling early modern Europe . . . and laces it with original mythologies to fuel the story’s action. Readers will find themselves immediately immersed in the narrative and invested in the fate of Julia, who is both feisty and flawed. There is a richness to this inaugural volume of the Witch’s Child trilogy, and readers will be hard pressed to put it down." --Starred Review, Booklist"Egan’s debut novel sparkles with storytelling that skillfully blends elements of steampunk, fantasy, adventure, and magic . . . A beautifully rendered world and an exquisite sense of timing ensure a page-turning experience." --Starred Review, Publishers Weekly"Egan’s first YA fantasy has inventiveness and action aplenty, but stands out particularly for its focus on character, remorse and moral formation." --Toronto Star