Just Like Jackie

January 2, 2018|
Just Like Jackie by Lindsey Stoddard
$19.40 
$21.00 save 7%
Hardcover
Earn 97 plum® points
1% of net proceeds from this book helps children in high-needs communities through the Indigo Love of Reading Foundation
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Buy In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

Family is family, no matter what it looks like. Readers will cheer for this pitch-perfect story, just right for fans of such books as The Great Gilly Hopkins and Fish in a TreeThis middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

For as long as Robinson Hart can remember, it’s just been her and Grandpa. He taught her about cars, baseball, and everything else worth knowing. But Grandpa’s memory has been getting bad—so bad that he sometimes can’t even remember Robbie’s name.

She’s sure that she’s making things worse by getting in trouble at school, but she can’t resist using her fists when bullies like Alex Carter make fun of her for not having a mom.

Now she’s stuck in group guidance—and to make things even worse, Alex Carter is there too. There’s no way Robbie’s going to open up about her life to some therapy group, especially not with Alex in the room. Besides, if she told anyone how forgetful Grandpa’s been getting lately, they’d take her away from him. He’s the only family she has—and it’s up to her to keep them together, no matter what.

Praise for Just Like Jackie:

"I was truly moved by this refreshing story about a scrappy young heroine and her struggle to protect her family."—Sara Pennypacker, New York Times bestselling author of Pax

Just Like Jackie is a lovely story of acceptance—about what makes a family and how we make our own families, and about embracing our differences.”—Ann M. Martin, New York Times bestselling author of Rain Reign

"A fresh coming-of-age novel as feisty, funny, and forthright as its protagonist. Robinson overcomes obstacles with wit, grit, and a growing compassion for others, showing us that families are what we make them and happiness is found in the simple gifts we take for granted. A rich, rewarding read all around."—John David Anderson, author of Ms. Bixby''s Last Day

“As close to perfect as a book for middle grade children can get!”—Cammie McGovern, author of Just My Luck

? "Stoddard debuts with a quiet but powerful narrative that gently unpacks Alzheimer’s, centers mental health, and moves through the intimate and intense emotional landscape of family—what seems to break one and what can remake it. Validating, heart-rending, and a deft blend of suffering and inspiration."—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“A home-run story that will resonate with all who feel they might not fit into the perfect definition of a family.”—School Library Journal

“Debut author Stoddard crafts a winning narrator in Robinson. A beautiful story about the true meaning of family, perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt.”—Booklist

Lindsey Stoddard was born and raised in Vermont, where she began her lifelong love of reading. She taught middle school English in New York City for ten years, then received her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults at Vermont College of Fine Arts. This is her debut novel.
Loading
Title:Just Like Jackie
Format:Hardcover
Product dimensions:256 pages, 8.25 X 5.5 X 0.89 in
Shipping dimensions:256 pages, 8.25 X 5.5 X 0.89 in
Published:January 2, 2018
Publisher:HarperCollins
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9780062652911

Recently Viewed
|