Kalifus Rising: Legends Of Orkney Series by Alane AdamsKalifus Rising: Legends Of Orkney Series by Alane Adams

Kalifus Rising: Legends Of Orkney Series

byAlane Adams

Paperback | September 6, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.50

Earn 113 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Sam Baron just freed Orkney from the ravages of the Red Sun-but now, imprisoned by Catriona, leader of the Volgrim Witches, Sam finds the darker side of his half-god, half-witch heritage released, and he fears he might destroy what he saved. Unable to resist the witches' enchantments, Sam has become their most potent weapon, and is leading an army of monstrous men against Skara Brae. Sam's only hope for salvation lies with his three best friends and a mystical artifact known as the Moon Pearl. Keely travels north in search of the pearl, while Howie prepares for the gathering onslaught. Leo seeks a powerful artifact in the underworld, and faces an ancient evil that could be an even greater threat than Catriona and her cronies. As Sam's friends rush to save him, other forces are at work in Orkney's shadows-forces that could help free Sam, or condemn him to the darkness forever.
Alane Adams is an author, professor, and literacy advocate. She is the author of the Legends of Orkney fantasy mythology series for tweens andThe Coal Thief, a picture book for early-grade readers. She lives in Southern California.
Loading
Title:Kalifus Rising: Legends Of Orkney SeriesFormat:PaperbackDimensions:384 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.68 inPublished:September 6, 2016Publisher:SparkPressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1940716845

ISBN - 13:9781940716848

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

2017 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards: Gold Medal, Best Book Series - Chapter Book"Sam's internal struggles and focus on the dark side of his witch heritage are reminiscent of Anakin Skywalker and will likely appeal to fanboys and fangirls, particularly as he 'must face the darkness inside.' Combined with strong female leads, both heroic and villainous, the ever growing and changing cast of characters has something for everyone. Fantasy, mythology, a touch of romance, and enough sword fights and battles to appease even the most action-hungry make Kalifus Rising a well-rounded, solid choice for those craving a new type of adventure."-Foreword Reviews FIVE STAR review"Adams is a master of exposition, never letting it slow the narrative by immersing it in rapid-fire dialogue . . . Indelible characters, both good and evil, and a rescue storyline that refuses to dawdle."-Kirkus Reviews"This series will do well with the Percy Jackson crowd and fans of Norse mythology."-School Library JournalFeatured on Girls' Life Fall Reading ListPraise and Awards for the Legends of Orkney series:For The Red Sun:2016 International Book Awards: Fiction: Young Adult Finalist2015 USA Best Book Awards: Best Cover Design: Fiction, Winner2015 USA Best Book Awards: Children's Fiction, WinnerBeverly Hills Book Award: Best Juvenile Fiction, WinnerIBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards: Best New Voice Children's/Young Adult, Silver MedalReaders Favorite Awards Children Preteen: Silver Medal Winner"This fast-moving adventure-the beginning of a trilogy-is sure to appease mythology fans who are outgrowing Percy Jackson's antics and looking for darker, weightier storytelling. VERDICT: A great choice for middle school collections."-School Library Journal"Percy Jackson meets Norse mythology in this captivating and unique adventure."-Foreword Reviews (4 stars out of 5)"The Red Sun: Legends of Orkney by Alane Adams is a book that will take children on a roller coaster ride of adventure and fantasy where whimsical and menacing creatures and witches will enthrall readers."-Readers' Favorite (5 stars out of 5)"This novel may appeal to young readers who have enjoyed other 'chosen one' fantasy stories: It moves along at a speedy clip, and preteens will likely identify with Sam's anger and frustration with the world . . . it's a high fantasy tale that maintains a quick pace."-Kirkus Reviews"The Red Sun is a roller coaster ride of adventure, Norse mythology, magic and mayhem. Between Sam facing awesome villains in the magical realm of Orkney to teachers turning into lizards, I had the best time doing the voiceover for the audiobook. Don't miss out on this terrific story!"-Karan Brar, actor on Disney's Jessie and Bunk'd"Alane Adams is the brilliant mind behind the Legends of Orkney series . . . Adams' knowledge of the Norse myths lends itself to an intricate story full of legend and mysticism . . . For Percy Jackson fans."-Hypable"8 Middle Grade Books to Fall For During School Season"-BuzzFeed"Alane Adams weaves a rollicking tale of adventure, filled with magic and mayhem, in The Red Sun, first in the Legends of Orkney series. Adams combines elements of Norse mythology and Umatilla tradition to send her young protagonist, Sam, on a unique quest to find himself and to save the entire realm of Orkney in the process."-Clarion"Cool read for kids"-Middle Shelf Magazine"A fast-paced adventure quest full of Norse mythology and spellbinding fun. Fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter will love The Red Sun."-Kristen Hunt, author of Blonde Eskimo