Kat And Meg Conquer The World by Anna PriemazaKat And Meg Conquer The World by Anna Priemaza

Kat And Meg Conquer The World

byAnna Priemaza

Hardcover | November 7, 2017

see the collection Mental Health: Teen Books

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.38 online 
$21.99 list price save 30%
Earn 77 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

For fans of Nicola Yoon’s Everything, Everything, Emery Lord’s When We Collided, and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, Anna Priemaza’s debut novel is a heartwarming and achingly real story of finding a friend, being a fan, and defining your place in a difficult world.

Kat and Meg couldn’t be more different. Kat’s anxiety makes it hard for her to talk to people. Meg hates being alone, but her ADHD keeps pushing people away. But when the two girls are thrown together for a year-long science project, they discover they do have one thing in common: They’re both obsessed with the same online gaming star and his hilarious videos.

If they can stick together, this might be the beginning of a beautiful friendshipthe kind Kat never knew she wanted and Meg never believed she'd find.

Kat and Meg Conquer the World will hit home for anyone who has ever been waist-deep in fandom, doubt, or new relationships; Kat’s and Meg’s unique voices are outstanding, and their friendship brings this story to vibrant life."—Francesca Zappia, author of Made You Up and Eliza and Her Monsters

Anna Priemaza is a practicing family and immigration lawyer in Edmonton, Alberta, where she lives with her husband. She can never quite remember how old she is, as she knits like an old lady, practices law like an adult, fangirls over YouTubers like a teen, and dreams like a child. Visit her online at www.annapriemaza.com or on Twitter...
Loading
Title:Kat And Meg Conquer The WorldFormat:HardcoverDimensions:368 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.17 inPublished:November 7, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062560808

ISBN - 13:9780062560803

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing This book was amazing, I love it so much I got copys for all my friends . A must read.
Date published: 2018-01-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok I loved everything about this book!
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I loved everything about this book! It had everything I wanted in a book! I related to Kat so much, and loved the fact that Kat and Meg were huge fans of a video game and a youtuber. I just thoroughly enjoyed this! #plumreview
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible! I loved everything about this book! I related to Kat so much, and loved the fact that Kat and Meg were huge fans of a video game and a youtuber. I just thoroughly enjoyed this!
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Realistic teen interaction Moving provinces and starting at a new high school is almost more than Kat can handle. Add on top of that her barely controlled anxiety issue and it's amazing that she even manages to get to school each morning. When the two term science project is announced, she has no idea who to team up with until Meg introduces herself. Unknown to the studious Kat, Meg has a major issue, ADHD to deal with herself. There is one thing that draws the two together, their love of Lumber Legs. He's a You Tube sensation who more often than not features epic fails of himself playing the very popular Legend of the Stone computer game. I enjoyed the story of the girls getting to know each other even as there were trying so hard to hide their personal issues. They were both trying to hide what they viewed at their own flaws, but they loved watching Legs share all of his. The two came across as real teens. Their discussions about everyday teen issues made it feel as though I was over hearing my daughter and friends. This is the type of interaction that goes on in high schools across the country and has for generations. The gaming aspect keeps it modern and relevant to today's teens. This is a well told take that made me care about the outcomes for both Kat and Meg. #IndigoEmployee
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refreshing, Moving, Fun! “Kat & Meg Conquer the World” is for anyone who has ever felt like they don’t belong, like they are not enough, and that their fears just might be insurmountable. This book is unflinchingly real, masterfully weaving diversity, mental health, video gaming, the brutal realities of high school, best friendship, family, and love into one delightful and heartwarming package. Pick this book up. Kat & Meg Conquer the World will conquer your heart... it definitely has mine. #indigoemployee
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refreshing, Moving, Fun “Kat & Meg Conquer the World” is for anyone who has ever felt like they don’t belong, like they are not enough, and that their fears just might be insurmountable. This book is unflinchingly real, masterfully weaving diversity, mental health, video gaming, the brutal realities of high school, best friendship, family, and love into one delightful and heartwarming package. Pick this book up. Kat & Meg Conquer the World will conquer your heart... it definitely has mine. #indigoemployee
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We've all got a little bit of Kat and Meg in us This Teen novel is about Kat, who's just moved to Alberta from Ontario so her family can take care of her grandad, and is starting again with high school (I actually had no idea highschool starts in grade 10 in Alberta - so weird!). She has a panic disorder and is very particular about plans and rules because of it. She's calculated because if things start to go awry, she panics. It also follows Meg, her mom and step-dad have been divorced for about a year now, and Meg is still dealing with her step-dad not wanting part-custody of her in the divorce. She also as to deal with day-to-day racism because she's black, and ADHD. She has a hard time keeping friends because of her hyperactivity and her boyfriend of two-months broke up with her. Meg and Kat are paired for the science fair project and spawn a friendship through their mutual love of the video game Legends of Stone and YouTube Gamer, LumberLegs. I really enjoyed a good friendship story. I haven't read a YA book like this in a while - usually they're just filled with unacknowledged insta-love, omigod-we're-gonna-die tropes. This was a good break. 3.5 stars cause I found myself a bit bored at times. The plot seemed to kind of stagger at certain points between each conflict leading up to the climax. But I don't believe in "filler" chapters - every word and every sentence should contribute to the plot. I also found myself unable to relate to the characters. But I'm 20, and the teens in this are in 10th grade (so, 14 or 15, right?), so take that with a grain of salt. I did, however, relate to Kat and her panic attacks. She and I actually extremely similar in our ways. I found her relationship with her grandad so touching, and even shed a few tears. You should definitely pick this up in November if you're tired of all the romantic tropes and want to snuggle up with some friendship. It's also pretty short, and easy to fly through on a snowy day.
Date published: 2017-10-16

Editorial Reviews

“A celebration of girl power at its best, these two prove that the things you hate most about yourself might be exactly what someone else needs.”