Keepers of the Night: Native American Stories and Nocturnal Activities for Children

by Joseph Bruchac, Michael Caduto

Fulcrum Publishing | March 1, 1997 | Trade Paperback

Not yet rated | write a review
From night walks and moon reading to puppet shows and storytelling, this kid-tested resource provides users with everything necessary to learn about the nocturnal world.

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 168 pages, 10 × 8 × 0.5 in

Published: March 1, 1997

Publisher: Fulcrum Publishing

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 1555911773

ISBN - 13: 9781555911775

Found in: Folklore and Mythology
Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12

save 0%

  • Out of stock online
$19.95 list price

$19.95 ea online

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

Reviews

– More About This Product –

Keepers of the Night: Native American Stories and Nocturnal Activities for Children

Keepers of the Night: Native American Stories and Nocturnal Activities for Children

by Joseph Bruchac, Michael Caduto

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 168 pages, 10 × 8 × 0.5 in

Published: March 1, 1997

Publisher: Fulcrum Publishing

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 1555911773

ISBN - 13: 9781555911775

From the Publisher

From night walks and moon reading to puppet shows and storytelling, this kid-tested resource provides users with everything necessary to learn about the nocturnal world.

About the Author

Joseph Bruchac, coauthor of The Keepers of the Earth series, is a nationally acclaimed Native American storyteller and writer who has authored more than 70 books of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry for adults and children. He lives in upstate New York. Michael J. Caduto is an award-winning and internationally known author, master storyteller, poet, musician, educator, and ecologist. He has received numerous awards, including the New York State Outdoor Education Association's Art and Literary Award, New England's Regional Award for Excellence in Environmental Education, the American Booksellers' "Pick of the List" Award, and the Association of Children's Booksellers' Choice Award, among others. He travels widely presenting environmental and cultural performances, speeches and workshops for children and adults. His recent books include Earth Tales from Around the World and The Crimson Elf: Italian Tales of Wisdom. He lives in Vermont.

From Our Editors

Night is more than just a period of time between sunset and sunrise. It is another world, fascinating and mysterious to children curious about the night and its nocturnal inhabitants. In native cultures night is a crucial part of the Great Circle and balance in the universe, and Keepers of the Night offers native wisdom to help young people learn valuable lessons about the natural world. In the tradition of Keepers of the Animals and Keepers of the Earth, this book features eight carefully selected native North American tales.

Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12