Khan Al-khalili by Naguib Mahfouz

Khan Al-khalili

byNaguib Mahfouz

Paperback | September 20, 2011

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.13 online 
$17.00 list price save 11%
Earn 76 plum® points

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Khan al-Khalili, by Egyptian Nobel Laureate Naguib Mahfouz, portrays the clash of old and new in an historic Cairo neighborhood as German bombs fall on the city.
   The time is 1942, World War II is at its height, and the Africa Campaign is raging along the northern coast of Egypt. Against this backdrop, Mahfouz’s novel tells the story of the Akifs, a middle-class family that has taken refuge in Cairo’s colorful and bustling Khan al-Khalili neighborhood. Believing that the German forces will never bomb such a famously religious part of the city, they leave their more elegant neighborhood and seek safety among the crowded alleyways, busy cafés, and ancient mosques of the Khan. Through the eyes of Ahmad, the eldest Akif son, Mahfouz presents a richly textured vision of the Khan, and of a crisis that pits history against modernity and faith against secularism. Fans of Midaq Alley and The Cairo Trilogy will not want to miss this engaging and sensitive portrayal of a family at the crossroads of the old world and the new.

Translated from the Arabic by Roger Allen

About The Author

Naguib Mahfouz was born in Cairo in 1911 and began writing when he was seventeen. His nearly forty novels and hundreds of short stories range from re-imaginings of ancient myths to subtle commentaries on contemporary Egyptian politics and culture. Of his many works, most famous is The Cairo Trilogy, consisting of Palace Walk (1956), Pa...
Palace Walk: The Cairo Trilogy, Volume 1
Palace Walk: The Cairo Trilogy, Volume 1

by Naguib Mahfouz

$20.63$23.00

In stock online

Available in stores

Children of the Alley: A Novel
Children of the Alley: A Novel

by Naguib Mahfouz

$17.18$23.00

In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:Khan Al-khaliliFormat:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 8 × 5.2 × 0.83 inPublished:September 20, 2011Publisher:Knopf Doubleday Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0307742571

ISBN - 13:9780307742575

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Khan Al-khalili

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Mahfouz is a storyteller of the first order in any idiom.” —Vanity Fair