Kingdom of Ash and Soot: Book One of The Order of the Crystal Daggers by C. S. JohnsonKingdom of Ash and Soot: Book One of The Order of the Crystal Daggers by C. S. Johnson

Kingdom of Ash and Soot: Book One of The Order of the Crystal Daggers

byC. S. Johnson

Paperback | July 3, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 113 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


In an age of political unrest and racial divide, one girl's search for truth will determine the future of her kingdom.

   Prague, 1870 

   For the last ten years, nineteen-year-old Eleanora Svobodová has worked as a servant in her stepmother's household, dreaming of the day she will be free to live life on her own terms. 

    But when her estranged grandmother, Lady Penelope, comes to Prague on behalf of Queen Victoria, everything changes. Throughout Bohemia, a string of murders and secret whispers hint at a larger coup, and Lady Penelope, as the leader of the Order of the Crystal Daggers, an ancient order of spies and soldiers that protect kingdoms and their rulers, is determined to discover the perpetrators. When she offers Eleanora the chance to help her prevent the kingdom from falling apart, she is hesitant to trust her. And while joining means freedom from her stepmother and protecting the people of Prague, Eleanora knows her life will never be the same--or her own. 

   Can she find a way to be free and still do the right thing? Or will joining the Order only lead to disaster? 

  With castle intrigue, true love, and family dysfunction, Cinderella meets Mission Impossible in this historical fiction spy adventure series by C. S. Johnson. 

C. S. Johnson is the author of several young adult novels, including sci-fi and fantasy adventures such as the Starlight Chronicles series, the Once Upon a Princess saga, and the Divine Space Pirates trilogy. With a gift for sarcasm and an apologetic heart, she currently lives in Atlanta with her family. Find out more at http://www.csj...
Title:Kingdom of Ash and Soot: Book One of The Order of the Crystal DaggersFormat:PaperbackDimensions:330 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.74 inPublished:July 3, 2018Publisher:Prodigy Gold BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1939665701

ISBN - 13:9781939665706

Look for similar items by category:


Editorial Reviews

"A great story with intriguing politics, fun character dynamics, and a breathless conclusion!"--Janeen Ippolito, author of  Lawless: The Ironfire Legacy

"This story will propel you to the end and hints at much more to come."--Darrick Dean, author of Among the Shadows: Watchers of the Light