Kiss Of Broken Glass by Madeleine KuderickKiss Of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick

Kiss Of Broken Glass

byMadeleine Kuderick

Paperback | September 8, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.69 online 
$12.50 list price save 6%
Earn 58 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Madeleine Kuderick’s gripping debut is a darkly beautiful and lyrical novel in verse, perfect for fans of Sonya Sones and Laurie Halse Anderson. Kiss of Broken Glass pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page.

In the next seventy-two hours, Kenna may lose everything—her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for seventy-two hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain.

When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for mandatory psychiatric watch. There, Kenna meets other kids like her—her roommate, Donya, who’s there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems . . . for a moment.

Madeleine Kuderick writes for anthologies and magazines and has spoken at conferences, including the International Reading Association's, where she's an advocate for reluctant readers and the teachers who touch their lives. She has a bachelor's degree from the University of South Florida and an MBA from Saint Leo University.Madeleine g...
Loading
Title:Kiss Of Broken GlassFormat:PaperbackDimensions:224 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.5 inPublished:September 8, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006230657X

ISBN - 13:9780062306579

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quick, raw read When fifteen-year-old Kenna is caught cutting herself in the school bathroom, she?s sent to a facility under a mandatory seventy-two hour watch. This was a fast read, under 300 pages, and I ended up finishing it in a night. The whole book was in verse style which gave it a raw feel, as if we were reading the character?s private journal. The book also took place, at least most of it, during the seventy-two hours Kenna was being held at the facility. There we were introduced to all kinds of different characters, other patients, nurses, doctors. The patients were all there for different reasons, and even with self-harm having the focus of the book, there were still many reasons touched upon that a person could have for wanting to hurt themselves. I like that the therapy group sessions were included and alternate methods of dealing with the need to cut were brought up. I also appreciated that there was no hinting there would be a magic cure-all method. The interactions between Kenna and the other patients were both sad and encouraging. I did wish we?d gotten a little more of the after, seeing Kenna back with her family or back at school, and how she dealt with people knowing and if the people around her changed because they knew. Though I can understand why the book concentrated on her time at the facility and the before and after were left open. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2014-09-18