Lance Armstrong's War: One Man's Battle Against Fate, Fame, Love, Death, Scandal, and a Few Other Rivals on the Road to th by Daniel CoyleLance Armstrong's War: One Man's Battle Against Fate, Fame, Love, Death, Scandal, and a Few Other Rivals on the Road to th by Daniel Coyle

Lance Armstrong's War: One Man's Battle Against Fate, Fame, Love, Death, Scandal, and a Few Other…

byDaniel Coyle

Paperback | April 13, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.99

Earn 100 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

“A velvety mix of vivid, sophisticated prose, Raymond Carver’s unerring eye for nuance, and John Irving’s irreverent, unflinching humor….An intimate look inside the maelstrom of professional cycling.”
Boston Globe<_o3a_p>

<_o3a_p> 

Daniel Coyne’s New York Times bestseller Lance Armstrong’s War takes a fascinating, in-depth  look at a staggeringly talented yet  flawed sports hero as he faced his greatest test: a record sixth straight Tour de France victory. Now with a new epilogue covering Armstrong's quest to win an 8th Tour de France, this “intimate, insightful, unflinching look at the greatest athlete of our time” (Jon Krakauer) explores the remarkable drive and accomplishments of a controversial champion—a must read for fans of John Feinstein and David Halberstam, as well as readers of Lance Armstrong’s own It’s Not About the Bike and Every Second Counts.<_o3a_p>

Daniel Coyle is the author ofHardball: A Season in the Projectsand the novelWaking Samuel. He is a former editor atOutsideand a two-time National Magazine Award finalist, and his work has been featured inThe Best American Sports Writing. He lives in Alaska with his wife, Jen, and their four children.
Title:Lance Armstrong's War: One Man's Battle Against Fate, Fame, Love, Death, Scandal, and a Few Other…Format:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.92 inPublished:April 13, 2010Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061783714

ISBN - 13:9780061783715

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Lance Armstrong's War: One Man's Battle Against Fate, Fame, Love, Death, Scandal, and a Few Other Rivals on the Road to th

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very informative This book has a wealth of information about the reality of pro cycling. It is written from as unbiased a perspective as seems possible. I really enjoyed reading it.
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great read Books on Lance are legion. I've not read all of them but, for my money, this is easily the best of the several I have read mainly because it does the best job in exploring and explaining what drives him.
Date published: 2010-08-13

Editorial Reviews

“Superbly written [and] deeply researched. A complete portrait of Armstrong.”