Landfall by Helen Gordon

Landfall

byHelen Gordon

Kobo ebook | October 6, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.59 online 
$16.89 list price save 19%

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

For fans of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides, Landfall is a clear-eyed, witty and warm debut novel by former Granta editor Helen Gordon, that marks the arrival of a major new literary talent.

Alice Robinson, art critic for a magazine so fashionable it's just gone out of business, finds herself agreeing to housesit for her parents. Moving back home to a suburbia she thought long behind her, she finds herself reconnecting with a different landscape, a fraught and painful past.

For everywhere Alice turns she finds traces of her sister, who went missing as a teenager. Can she stop her old life intruding on the present? Should she even try? What does Alice's new future look like?

'An intriguing novel . . . a hipster version of Margaret Atwood's Surfacing' Metro

'A memorable novel. I loved the pace and verve of Alice's voyage from Shoreditch to suburbia, and the unexpectedness of the story as it swerves past the familiar into a dangerous and beautiful unknown' Helen Dunmore

'Compulsively readable' Independent on Sunday

'Fine writing . . . wrapped in an arresting evocation of timelessness' Guardian

'Brooding and haunting' Tatler

'Uplifting, witty, wonderfully unsettling' Psychologies

'Beautifully descriptive, with a cliff-hanger finale' Easy Living

Helen Gordon was born in 1979 and grew up in Croydon. She currently lives in east London and is a former associate editor of Granta magazine. Landfall is her first novel.

Title:LandfallFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:October 6, 2011Publisher:Penguin Books LtdLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0141969660

ISBN - 13:9780141969664

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews