Langston Hughes: The Contemporary Reviews by Tish DaceLangston Hughes: The Contemporary Reviews by Tish Dace

Langston Hughes: The Contemporary Reviews

EditorTish Dace, M. Thomas Inge

Paperback | June 25, 2009

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 475 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


American Critical Archives is a series of reference books that provide representative selections of contemporary reviews of the main works of major American authors. Providing reprints of over 760 reviews and checklists of nearly 950 others, this book represents the first comprehensive collection of contemporary reviews of the writing of Langston Hughes from 1926 until his death in 1967. Celebrated as a young poet of the Harlem Renaissance, his poetry appeared in The Crisis and The New Negro. His other works include the play The Mulatto, and poetry collected in Shakespeare of Harlem and Ask your Mama. This collection will prove indispensable not only to Langston Hughes specialists but to all students of twentieth-century African-American literature.
Title:Langston Hughes: The Contemporary ReviewsFormat:PaperbackDimensions:788 pages, 9.02 × 5.98 × 1.57 inPublished:June 25, 2009Publisher:Cambridge University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0521114306

ISBN - 13:9780521114301

Table of Contents

1. The Weary Blues, 1926; 2. Fine Clothes to the Jew, 1927; 3. Not Without Laughter, 1930; 4. The Dream Keeper and Other Poems, 1932; 5. The Ways of White Folks, 1934; 6. The Big Sea, 1940; 7. Shakespeare in Harlem, 1942; 8. Fields of Wonder, 1947; 9. One Way Ticket, 1949; 10. Simple Speaks His Mind, 1950; 11. Montage of a Dream Deferred, 1951; 12. Laughing to Keep From Crying, 1952; 13. Simple Takes a Wife, 1953; 14. The Sweet Flypaper of Life, 1955; 15. I Wonder as I Wander, 1956; 16. A Pictorial History of the Negro in America, 1956; 17. Simple Stakes a Claim, 1957; 18. The Langston Hughes Reader, 1958; 19. Tambourines to Glory, 1958; Selected Poems, 1959; 20. The Best of Simple, 1961; 21. Ask Your Mama, 1961; 22. Fight for Freedom, 1962; 23. Something in Common and Other Stories, 1963; 24. Five Plays by Langston Hughes, 1963; 25. Simple's Uncle Sam, 1965; 26. The Panther and the Lash, 1967; 27. Black Magic, 1967; 28. Appendices: additional reprints and checklists; 29. Poetry: limited editions and pamphlets; 30. Popo and Fifina, 1932; 31. The 'First' books; 32. The 'Famous' books; Books edited by Hughes; Books translated by Hughes; Selected plays.