Late For Tea At The Deer Palace: The Lost Dreams Of My Iraqi Family

Paperback | January 31, 2012

byTamara Chalabi

not yet rated|write a review
“It’s an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this.” —Christopher Hitchens

In the tradition of Jung Chang’s Wild Swans and Bhutto Benazir’s Reconciliation comes Tamara Chalabi’s unique memoir of returning to her family’s homeland, Iraq. In this epic story of one daughter’s journey through the annals of her family’s tumultuous history, Chalabi’s powerful voice and piercing vision illuminate her country and its people as never before.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.99

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

“It’s an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this.” —Christopher HitchensIn the tradition of Jung Chang’s Wild Swans and Bhutto Benazir’s Reconciliation comes Tamara Chalabi’s un...

From the Jacket

Just ten days after Baghdad’s fall in 2003, Tamara Chalabi arrived in the city after a lifetime in exile—finally entering the homeland she’d known only through stories and her own imagination. Investigating four generations of her family’s history at the forefront of Iraqi society, Chalabi offers a rich portrait of Middle Eastern life ...

Tamara Chalabi holds a PhD in history from Harvard University. She has written forThe Wall Street Journal,The New Republic,Slate, andThe Sunday Times, among other publications.

other books by Tamara Chalabi

Format:PaperbackDimensions:448 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 1.01 inPublished:January 31, 2012Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061240400

ISBN - 13:9780061240409

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Late For Tea At The Deer Palace: The Lost Dreams Of My Iraqi Family

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“It’s an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this.”