Late For Tea At The Deer Palace: The Lost Dreams Of My Iraqi Family by Tamara ChalabiLate For Tea At The Deer Palace: The Lost Dreams Of My Iraqi Family by Tamara Chalabi

Late For Tea At The Deer Palace: The Lost Dreams Of My Iraqi Family

byTamara Chalabi

Paperback | January 31, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.79 online 
$19.99 list price save 11%
Earn 89 plum® points
Quantity:

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

“It’s an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this.” —Christopher Hitchens

In the tradition of Jung Chang’s Wild Swans and Bhutto Benazir’s Reconciliation comes Tamara Chalabi’s unique memoir of returning to her family’s homeland, Iraq. In this epic story of one daughter’s journey through the annals of her family’s tumultuous history, Chalabi’s powerful voice and piercing vision illuminate her country and its people as never before.
Tamara Chalabi holds a PhD in history from Harvard University. She has written forThe Wall Street Journal,The New Republic,Slate, andThe Sunday Times, among other publications.
Loading
Title:Late For Tea At The Deer Palace: The Lost Dreams Of My Iraqi FamilyFormat:PaperbackDimensions:448 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 1.01 inPublished:January 31, 2012Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061240400

ISBN - 13:9780061240409

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great history A wonderful narrative of a family history; a fascinating story of several generations. Highly recommended as it paints a different picture of Iraqi society than most other literature. Fascinating anecdotes such as relatives who left Iraq with jewels sewn into an overcoat, or another who escaped a mob by slipping out of a car and then swimming down the Tigris.
Date published: 2012-05-05

Editorial Reviews

“It’s an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this.”