Leaven Of Malice by Robertson DaviesLeaven Of Malice by Robertson Davies

Leaven Of Malice

byRobertson Davies

Paperback | October 13, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 100 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Winner of the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour, Leaven of Malice is the second novel in Robertson Davies's much-loved Salterton Trilogy, now part of the new Modern Classics series.

     The following announcement appeared in the Salterton Evening Bellman: "Professor and Mrs. Walter Vambrace are pleased to announce the engagement of their daughter, Pearl Veronica, to Solomon Bridgetower, Esq., son of..."     
     And not a word was true. Although the malice that prompted this false engagement notice was aimed at three people only--Solly Bridgetower, Pearl Vambrace, and Gloster Ridley, the anxiety-ridden local newspaper editor--before the leaven of malice had ceased to work, it had changed permanently, for good or ill, the lives of many of Salterton.     
     This is the second novel in the Salterton Trilogy, which also includes Tempest-Tost and A Mixture of Frailties, and is another brilliant display of Robertson Davies's legendary wit and erudition.
William Robertson Davies was born in Thamesville, Ontario in 1913. He taught English at the University of Toronto and was an actor, journalist, and newspaper editor before winning acclaim as a novelist with Tempest-Tost, the first of his Salterton trilogy. His most famous trilogy, The Deptford Trilogy--Fifth Business, The Manticore, an...
Title:Leaven Of MaliceFormat:PaperbackDimensions:256 pages, 7.8 × 5 × 0.6 inPublished:October 13, 2015Publisher:Penguin CanadaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0143197029

ISBN - 13:9780143197027

Look for similar items by category: