Lessons In Chemistry

March 29, 2022|
Lessons In Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus
sticker-burst
$14.16 
$24.95 save 43%
Paperback
Earn 71 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
 
A delight for readers of Where''d You Go, Bernadette, this blockbuster debut set in 1960s California features the singular voice of Elizabeth Zott, a scientist whose career takes a detour when she becomes the star of a beloved TV cooking show.


Chemist Elizabeth Zott is not your average woman. In fact, Elizabeth Zott would be the first to point out that there is no such thing as an average woman. But it''s the early 1960s and her all-male team at Hastings Research Institute takes a very unscientific view of equality. Except for one: Calvin Evans, the lonely, brilliant, Nobel Prize–nominated grudge holder who falls in love with—of all things—her mind. True chemistry results. 
 
Like science, though, life is unpredictable. Which is why a few years later Eizabeth Zott finds herself not only a single mother but also the reluctant star of America''s most beloved cooking show, Supper at Six. Elizabeth''s unusual approach to cooking ("combine one tablespoon acetic acid with a pinch of sodium chloride") proves revolutionary. But as her following grows, not everyone is happy. Because, as it turns out, Elizabeth Zott isn''t just teaching women how to cook. She''s daring them to change the status quo.  
 
Laugh-out-loud funny, shrewdly observant and studded with a dazzling cast of supporting characters, Lessons in Chemistry is as original and vibrant as its protagonist.
BONNIE GARMUS is a copywriter and creative director who has worked widely in the fields of technology, medicine and education. She''s an open-water swimmer, a rower and mother to two pretty amazing daughters. Born in California and most recently from Seattle, she currently lives in London with her husband and her dog, 99.
Loading
Title:Lessons In Chemistry
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:400 pages, 9.21 X 6.09 X 1.04 in
Shipping dimensions:400 pages, 9.21 X 6.09 X 1.04 in
Published:March 29, 2022
Publisher:Doubleday Canada
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9780385697378

Recently Viewed
|