Like Family: Growing Up In Other People's Houses, A Memoir by Paula Mclain

Like Family: Growing Up In Other People's Houses, A Memoir

byPaula Mclain

Paperback | August 6, 2013

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.09 online 
$20.99 list price
Earn 100 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

In the tradition of Jo Ann Beard'sBoys of My Youth, and Mary Karr'sTheLiar's Club, Paula McLain has written a powerful and haunting memoir about the years she and her two sisters spent as foster children. In the early 70s, after being abandoned by both parents, the girls were made wards of the Fresno County, California court and spent the next 14 years-in a series of adoptive homes. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of a captivating memoir. McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.

About The Author

Paula McLain, author of the bestselling novelThe Paris Wife, received her MFA in poetry from the University of Michigan in 1996. Her other books include two volumes of poems,Less of HerandStumble, Gorgeous, and the novelA Ticket to Ride. She teaches in the MFA Program in Poetry at New England College, and lives with her family in Cleve...
The Paris Wife
The Paris Wife

by Paula Mclain

$10.00$29.95

In stock online

Available in stores

Circling The Sun
Circling The Sun

by Paula Mclain

$32.00

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Available in stores

A Ticket To Ride: A Novel
A Ticket To Ride: A Novel

by Paula Mclain

$14.00$18.50

In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:Like Family: Growing Up In Other People's Houses, A MemoirFormat:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.88 inPublished:August 6, 2013Publisher:Little, Brown And CompanyLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0316400602

ISBN - 13:9780316400602

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Like Family: Growing Up In Other People's Houses, A Memoir

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"A powerful and haunting memoir."-Anne Martino, Ann Arbor News