Like Family: Growing Up In Other People's Houses, A Memoir

Paperback | August 6, 2013

byPaula Mclain

not yet rated|write a review
In the tradition of Jo Ann Beard'sBoys of My Youth, and Mary Karr'sTheLiar's Club, Paula McLain has written a powerful and haunting memoir about the years she and her two sisters spent as foster children. In the early 70s, after being abandoned by both parents, the girls were made wards of the Fresno County, California court and spent the next 14 years-in a series of adoptive homes. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of a captivating memoir. McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.97 online
$20.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

In the tradition of Jo Ann Beard'sBoys of My Youth, and Mary Karr'sTheLiar's Club, Paula McLain has written a powerful and haunting memoir about the years she and her two sisters spent as foster children. In the early 70s, after being abandoned by both parents, the girls were made wards of the Fresno County, California court and spent ...

Paula McLain, author of the bestselling novelThe Paris Wife, received her MFA in poetry from the University of Michigan in 1996. Her other books include two volumes of poems,Less of HerandStumble, Gorgeous, and the novelA Ticket to Ride. She teaches in the MFA Program in Poetry at New England College, and lives with her family in Cleve...

other books by Paula Mclain

Circling The Sun
Circling The Sun

Hardcover|Jul 28 2015

$32.00

The Paris Wife
The Paris Wife

Paperback|Nov 27 2012

$19.87 online$22.00list price(save 9%)
A Ticket To Ride: A Novel
A Ticket To Ride: A Novel

Paperback|Nov 24 2015

$16.99 online$18.50list price(save 8%)
see all books by Paula Mclain
Format:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.88 inPublished:August 6, 2013Publisher:Little, Brown And CompanyLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0316400602

ISBN - 13:9780316400602

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Like Family: Growing Up In Other People's Houses, A Memoir

Reviews