Listen, Slowly by Thanhha LaiListen, Slowly by Thanhha Lai

Listen, Slowly

byThanhha Lai

Paperback | May 17, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.50

Earn 43 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Listen, Slowly is a New York Times Book Review Notable Book and a Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year! This remarkable and bestselling novel from Thanhha Lai, author of the National Book Award–winning and Newbery Honor Book Inside Out & Back Again, follows a young girl as she learns the true meaning of family.

A California girl born and raised, Mai can’t wait to spend her vacation at the beach. Instead, she has to travel to Vietnam with her grandmother, who is going back to find out what really happened to her husband during the Vietnam War. Mai’s parents think this trip will be a great opportunity for their out-of-touch daughter to learn more about her culture. But to Mai, those are their roots, not her own. Vietnam is hot, smelly, and the last place she wants to be. Besides barely speaking the language, she doesn’t know the geography, the local customs, or even her distant relatives. To survive her trip, Mai must find a balance between her two completely different worlds.

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Linda Sue Park, Listen, Slowly is an irresistibly charming and emotionally poignant tale about a girl who discovers that home and culture, family and friends, can all mean different things.

This paperback edition includes a special letter from the author and a Vietnamese glossary and pronunciation guide.

Thanhha Lai was born in 1965 in Vietnam. She is an American writer of children's literature. At the Fall of Saigon April 30, 1975, her soldier father was missing in action. Mother and children fled to the United States and moved to Montgomery,Alabama, because one man there was willing to sponsor all ten of them. Before high school, the...
Loading
Title:Listen, SlowlyFormat:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 7.62 × 5.12 × 0.58 inPublished:May 17, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062229192

ISBN - 13:9780062229199

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“In this free-verse narrative, Lai is sparing in her details, painting big pictures with few words and evoking abundant visuals.”