182 results for
indigoBooksFiction and LiteratureLiterary Theory and Criticism

Sort By:

Sorted By: Top Matches
Filtered By:
Books
Fiction and Literature
Literary Theory and Criticism
French
1 - 12 of 182 Results
Top Matches
Poets Companion: A Guide To The Pleasures Of Writing Poetry
Paperback

|September 2, 1997

$21.26 online

$23.95

save 11%

In stock online

Not available in stores

The Poet's Companion presents brief essays on the elements of poetry, technique, and suggested subjects for writing, each followed by distinctive writing exercises. The ups and downs of writing life—including self-doubt and writer's block—are here,…
Surprised by Sin: The Reader In Paradise Lost, With A New Preface By The Author, Second Edition

In stock online

Not available in stores

In 1967 the world of Milton studies was divided into two armed camps: one proclaiming (in the tradition of Blake and Shelley) that Milton was of the devil's party with or without knowing it, the other proclaiming (in the tradition of Addison and C. S. Lewis)…
Rules for the Dance: A Handbook for Writing and Reading Metrical Verse

In stock online

Not available in stores

"True ease in writing comes from art, not chance, / As those move easiest who have learn'd to dance," wrote Alexander Pope. "The dance," in the case of Oliver's brief and luminous book, refers to the interwoven pleasures of sound and sense to be found in some…
Preface to Plato
Paperback

|April 15, 1982

$33.87 online

$35.95

save 5%

Ships within 3-5 weeks

Not available in stores

Plato's frontal attack on poetry has always been a problem for sympathetic students, who have often minimized or avoided it. Beginning with the premise that the attack must be taken seriously, Mr. Havelock shows that Plato's hostility is explained by the…
Book Of Embraces
Paperback

|June 2, 1992

$18.24 online

$20.95

save 12%

In stock online

Not available in stores

Eduardo Galeano's is considered a passionate literary voice. In "The Book of Embraces", he employs parable and paradox, anecdote and dream, and fragments of autobiography to construct a passionate, ironic and joyful world view. The world reveals itself in a…
Solitaire Premier, Ou Dialogue de la Fureur Poetique .

In stock online

Not available in stores

The Redress of Poetry
Paperback

|October 30, 1996

$23.42 online

$24.00

In stock online

Not available in stores

Seamus Heaney defines the title of this work of criticism as follows: "To redress poetry is to know and celebrate it for its forcibleness as itself . . . not only as a matter of profferd argument and edifying content but as a matter of angelic potential, a motion…
Democracy and Poetry
Paperback

|January 1, 1976

$27.37 online

$27.50

In stock online

Not available in stores

In these two essays, one of America’s most honored writers fastens on the interrelation of American democracy and poetry and the concept of selfhood vital to each. “I really don’t want to make a noise like a pundit,” Mr. Warren declares,…
I: Six Nonlectures
Paperback

|January 1, 1991

$21.96 online

$30.95

save 29%

Ships within 3-5 weeks

Not available in stores

The author begins his "nonlectures" with the warning "I haven't the remotest intention of posing as a lecturer." Then, at intervals, he proceeds to deliver the following: 1. i & my parents 2. i & their son 3. i & selfdiscovery 4. i & you & is 5. i & now & him 6.…
The Reader, The Text, The Poem: The Transactional Theory of the Literary Work

In stock online

Not available in stores

Louise M. Rosenblatt’s award-winning work continues increasingly to be read in a wide range of academic fields—literary criticism, reading theory, aesthetics, composition, rhetoric, speech communication, and education. Her view of the reading…
The Music of What Happens: Poems, Poets, Critics
Paperback

|January 1, 1989

$61.65 online

$68.50

save 10%

In stock online

Not available in stores

Join Professor Helen Vendler in her course lecture on the Yeats poem "Among School Children". View her insightful and passionate analysis along with a condensed reading and student comments on the course. Helen Vendler has become one of our most trusted…
Sylvia Plath: The Wound And The Cure Of Words
Paperback

|March 1, 1992

$30.85 online

$41.95

save 26%

In stock online

Not available in stores

This is a "biography of the imagination," an inner narrative of Sylvia Plath's life and work. Combining psychoanalytical, feminist, and intertextual methods, Steven Gould Axelrod traces what Roland Barthes has called "the body's journey through language." After…
Loading