Little House 5-book Full-color Box Set: Books 1 To 5 by Laura Ingalls WilderLittle House 5-book Full-color Box Set: Books 1 To 5 by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Little House 5-book Full-color Box Set: Books 1 To 5

byLaura Ingalls Wilder

Paperback | October 12, 2004

Pricing and Purchase Info

$44.90 online 
$55.99 list price save 19%
Earn 225 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


This five-book paperback box set of the classic series features Garth Williams's illustrations in gorgeous full color.

The books in the timeless Little House series tell the story of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s real childhood as an American pioneer and are cherished by readers of all generations. They offer a unique glimpse into life on the American frontier and tell the heartwarming, unforgettable story of a loving family.

Little House in the Big Woods

Wolves and panthers and bears roam the deep Wisconsin woods in the 1870s. In those same woods, Laura lives with Pa and Ma, and her sisters, Mary and Baby Carrie, in a snug little house built of logs. Pa hunts and traps. Ma makes her own cheese and butter. All night long, the wind howls lonesomely, but Pa plays the fiddle and sings, keeping the family safe and cozy.

Farmer Boy

As Laura Ingalls is growing up in a little house in Kansas, Almanzo Wilder lives on a big farm in New York. He and his brothers and sisters work hard from dawn to supper to help keep their family farm running. Almanzo wishes for just one thing—his very own horse—but he must prove that he is ready for such a big responsibility.

Little House on the Prairie

Pa Ingalls decides to sell the little log house, and the family sets out for Indian country! They travel from Wisconsin to Kansas, and there, finally, Pa builds their little house on the prairie. Sometimes farm life is difficult, even dangerous, but Laura and her family are kept busy and are happy with the promise of their new life on the prairie.

On the Banks of Plum Creek

Laura's family's first home in Minnesota is made of sod, but Pa builds a clean new house made of sawed lumber beside Plum Creek. The money for materials will come from their first wheat crop. Then, just before the wheat is ready to harvest, a strange glittering cloud fills the sky, blocking out the sun. Soon millions of grasshoppers cover the field and everything on the farm. In a week's time, there is no wheat crop left at all.

By the Shores of Silver Lake

Pa Ingalls heads west to the unsettled wilderness of the Dakota Territory. When Ma, Mary, Laura, Carrie, and baby Grace join him, they become the first settlers in the town of De Smet. And Pa begins work on the first building in what will soon be a brand-new town on the shores of Silver Lake.

Laura Ingalls Wilder was born in 1867 in the log cabin described inLittle House in the Big Woods. She and her family traveled by covered wagon across the Midwest. Later, Laura and her husband, Almanzo Wilder, made their own covered-wagon trip with their daughter, Rose, to Mansfield, Missouri. There, believing in the importance of knowi...
Title:Little House 5-book Full-color Box Set: Books 1 To 5Format:PaperbackDimensions:8.75 × 6.35 × 1.73 inPublished:October 12, 2004Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0060754281

ISBN - 13:9780060754280

Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great collection piece What a great collection piece of a treasure of absolute classics!
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Childhood favourite I feel in love with these books after my 3rd grade teacher read the first book in the series outloud to the class. After that, I was gifted with the entire boxset for my birthday. The series of books are entertaining and at the same time, teach kids about the struggles of pioneer life. A great family read.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the series! Loved the series and loved the boxset!
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Endearing My mom had this set when I was growing up, and I can't remember how many times I read these. I loved them! Seeing the world through Laura's eyes meant for many entertaining and endearing moments.
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Absolute Must Have We often see that phrase in catalogues, magazines, on signs in various department stores, but in this case, it's true. Laura Ingalls Wilder's account of her life starting with her childhood in the 1870's, and finishing with the first four years of her marriage in the 1890's is nothing short of wonderful. The historical content of this series is worth the purchase price alone, but it is Wilder's incredible talent as a storyteller that will have you reading and re-reading this titles again and again. Exhilarating for young people, sobering and inspiring for adults, this box set is priceless ... an absolute must have.
Date published: 2008-10-15