Lives Of The Later Caesars: Augustan History, Part 1; Lives Of Nerva And Trajan by Anthony AnonymousLives Of The Later Caesars: Augustan History, Part 1; Lives Of Nerva And Trajan by Anthony Anonymous

Lives Of The Later Caesars: Augustan History, Part 1; Lives Of Nerva And Trajan

byAnthony AnonymousTranslated byAnthony Briley, Anthony Birley

Paperback | June 24, 1976

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.83 online 
$22.00 list price save 14%
Earn 94 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


One of the most controversial of all works to survive from ancient Rome, the Augustan History is our main source of information about the Roman emperors from 117 to 284 AD. Written in the late fourth century by an anonymous author, it is an enigmatic combination of truth, invention and humour. This volume contains the first half of the History, and includes biographies of every emperor from Hadrian to Heliogabalus - among them the godlike Marcus Antonius and his grotesquely corrupt son Commodus. The History contains many fictitious (but highly entertaining) anecdotes about the depravity of the emperors, as the author blends historical fact and faked documents to present our most complete - albeit unreliable - account of the later Roman Caesars. 

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.
Anthony Birley is a renowned translator.
Title:Lives Of The Later Caesars: Augustan History, Part 1; Lives Of Nerva And TrajanFormat:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 7.82 × 5.1 × 0.78 inPublished:June 24, 1976Publisher:Penguin Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0140443088

ISBN - 13:9780140443080

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

Lives of the Later CaesarsIntroduction
Chronological table of emperors

The Lives

The Augustan History
Antoninus Pius
Marcus Antoninus
Avidius Cassius
Commodus Antoninus
Didius Julianus
Pescennius Niger
Clodius Albinus
Antoninus Caracallus
Antoninus Geta
Opilius Macrinus
Diadumenus Antoninus
Antoninus Heliogabalus

Geneological tables (stemma)
A. Trajan and Hadrian
B. Antoninus Pius
C. Marcus
D. The children of Marcus
E. Lucius Verus
F. Septimius Severus

Map of Italy, showing places names in the text

Map of the Roman Empire, showing places named in the text


From Our Editors

Lives of the Later Caesars is the sequel to The Twelve Caesars by Suetonius. The ‘later Caesars’ refers to Nerva and Trajan. These two masterpieces provide a unique portrait gallery of the colourful and compelling personalities who ruled most of the known world during the greatest period of Roman history.