Long Stretch: A Novel

Paperback | May 15, 2006

byLinden Macintyre

not yet rated|write a review

From the Giller Prize-winning author of The Bishop’s Man comes a mesmerizing novel in the tradition of Alistair MacLeod, David Adams Richards and Ann-Marie MacDonald.

In one apocalyptic night, John Gillis and his estranged cousin, Sextus, confront a half century of half-truths and suppositions that have shaped and scarred their lives, their families and their insular Cape Breton community. Telling stories that unravel a host of secrets, they begin to realize that they were damaged before they were born, their fathers and a close friend forming an unholy trilogy in a tragic moment of war. Among the roots of a complex andpainful relationship, they uncover the truth of a fateful day John has spent 20 years trying to forget.

Taut and brilliantly paced, The Long Stretch is etched with quiet humour and crafted with fiery dialogue.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.97 online
$19.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

From the Giller Prize-winning author of The Bishop’s Man comes a mesmerizing novel in the tradition of Alistair MacLeod, David Adams Richards and Ann-Marie MacDonald.In one apocalyptic night, John Gillis and his estranged cousin, Sextus, confront a half century of half-truths and suppositions that have shaped and scarred their lives, t...

LINDEN MACINTYRE is one of Canada’s most distinguished broadcast journalists. The winner of eight Gemini Awards, he is the co-host of CBC Television’s the fifth estate and has been involved in the production of documentaries and stories from all over the world. His first novel, The Long Stretch, was published to tremendous critical acc...

other books by Linden Macintyre

The Bishop's Man
The Bishop's Man

Paperback|Aug 3 2010

$19.95 online$22.00list price(save 9%)
Punishment
Punishment

Paperback|Jun 2 2015

$16.79 online$22.00list price(save 23%)
Why Men Lie
Why Men Lie

Hardcover|Mar 27 2012

$10.00 online$32.00list price(save 68%)
see all books by Linden Macintyre
Format:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.75 inPublished:May 15, 2006Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:000639583X

ISBN - 13:9780006395836

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Long Stretch: A Novel

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Long Stretch Confusing, but good insight on the drama, sometimes internal, perpetrated by a child's understanding of the secret adults' in their little world kept.
Date published: 2015-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Dialogue Driven Encounter Mr. MacIntyre is a Canadian journalist, broadcaster and novelist who has won numerous awards for his writing and journalistic excellence. “The Long Stretch”, a fiction, written in 1999 is the first in his Cape Breton Trilogy. The tale is a fine and haunting story told by an alcoholic who is occupying his time by digging into closely kept family secrets that have created many unsubstantiated rumours. The story centers on John and his first cousin, Sextus Gillis, who share the same family history and bear the burden of the same family secrets. 13 years after an estrangement they come together and in a drunken state they reminisce the past. Analysing flashback after flashback they gradually reveal the ghosts of the past to make sense of all the information and arrive at a conclusion they can live with. The encounter eventually clears the air between the two of them. “The Long Stretch” brings everything alive in a story with a dialogue driven encounter. The prose conveys beautifully the language and landscape of Cape Breton, an island rich in history and mired with tradition where the Gaelic language and customs are kept alive in fawn respect of their heritage. In Mr. Macintyre words it is evident he has a deep and loving passion for the people and the area.
Date published: 2012-07-23