Long Stretch: A Novel by Linden Macintyre

Long Stretch: A Novel

byLinden Macintyre

Paperback | May 15, 2006

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.99

Earn 100 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

From the Giller Prize-winning author of The Bishop’s Man comes a mesmerizing novel in the tradition of Alistair MacLeod, David Adams Richards and Ann-Marie MacDonald.

In one apocalyptic night, John Gillis and his estranged cousin, Sextus, confront a half century of half-truths and suppositions that have shaped and scarred their lives, their families and their insular Cape Breton community. Telling stories that unravel a host of secrets, they begin to realize that they were damaged before they were born, their fathers and a close friend forming an unholy trilogy in a tragic moment of war. Among the roots of a complex andpainful relationship, they uncover the truth of a fateful day John has spent 20 years trying to forget.

Taut and brilliantly paced, The Long Stretch is etched with quiet humour and crafted with fiery dialogue.

About The Author

LINDEN MACINTYRE is one of Canada’s most distinguished broadcast journalists. The winner of eight Gemini Awards, he is the co-host of CBC Television’s the fifth estate and has been involved in the production of documentaries and stories from all over the world. His first novel, The Long Stretch, was published to tremendous critical acc...
The Only Café: A Novel
The Only Café: A Novel

by Linden Macintyre

$25.00$34.00

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Who Killed Ty Conn
Who Killed Ty Conn

by Linden Macintyre

$18.57$19.95

Ships within 1-3 weeks

Available in stores

Punishment
Punishment

by Linden Macintyre

$17.78$22.00

In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:Long Stretch: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.75 inPublished:May 15, 2006Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:000639583X

ISBN - 13:9780006395836

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Long Stretch: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“I can’t tell you enough how much I absolutely love this book. . . . If you live in Cape Breton or Newfoundland, you’re going to love this book. . . . I did not want to put it down.”