Long Stretch: A Novel

Paperback | May 15, 2006

byLinden Macintyre

not yet rated|write a review

From the Giller Prize-winning author of The Bishop’s Man comes a mesmerizing novel in the tradition of Alistair MacLeod, David Adams Richards and Ann-Marie MacDonald.

In one apocalyptic night, John Gillis and his estranged cousin, Sextus, confront a half century of half-truths and suppositions that have shaped and scarred their lives, their families and their insular Cape Breton community. Telling stories that unravel a host of secrets, they begin to realize that they were damaged before they were born, their fathers and a close friend forming an unholy trilogy in a tragic moment of war. Among the roots of a complex andpainful relationship, they uncover the truth of a fateful day John has spent 20 years trying to forget.

Taut and brilliantly paced, The Long Stretch is etched with quiet humour and crafted with fiery dialogue.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.97 online
$19.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

From the Giller Prize-winning author of The Bishop’s Man comes a mesmerizing novel in the tradition of Alistair MacLeod, David Adams Richards and Ann-Marie MacDonald.In one apocalyptic night, John Gillis and his estranged cousin, Sextus, confront a half century of half-truths and suppositions that have shaped and scarred their lives, t...

LINDEN MACINTYRE is one of Canada’s most distinguished broadcast journalists. The winner of eight Gemini Awards, he is the co-host of CBC Television’s the fifth estate and has been involved in the production of documentaries and stories from all over the world. His first novel, The Long Stretch, was published to tremendous critical acc...

other books by Linden Macintyre

Why Men Lie
Why Men Lie

Hardcover|Mar 27 2012

$10.00 online$32.00list price(save 68%)
The Bishop's Man
The Bishop's Man

Paperback|Aug 3 2010

$19.96 online$22.00list price(save 9%)
Punishment
Punishment

Paperback|Jun 2 2015

$16.77 online$22.00list price(save 23%)
see all books by Linden Macintyre
Format:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.75 inPublished:May 15, 2006Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:000639583X

ISBN - 13:9780006395836

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Long Stretch: A Novel

Reviews