Long Stretch: A Novel

May 15, 2006|
Long Stretch: A Novel by Linden Macintyre
ONLY 2 LEFT!
$19.99
Paperback
Earn 100 plum® points
Ships free on orders over $35

In stock online

Available in stores

To see store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

From the Giller Prize-winning author of The Bishop’s Man comes a mesmerizing novel in the tradition of Alistair MacLeod, David Adams Richards and Ann-Marie MacDonald.

In one apocalyptic night, John Gillis and his estranged cousin, Sextus, confront a half century of half-truths and suppositions that have shaped and scarred their lives, their families and their insular Cape Breton community. Telling stories that unravel a host of secrets, they begin to realize that they were damaged before they were born, their fathers and a close friend forming an unholy trilogy in a tragic moment of war. Among the roots of a complex andpainful relationship, they uncover the truth of a fateful day John has spent 20 years trying to forget.

Taut and brilliantly paced, The Long Stretch is etched with quiet humour and crafted with fiery dialogue.

LINDEN MACINTYRE is one of Canada’s most distinguished broadcast journalists. The winner of eight Gemini Awards, he is the co-host of CBC Television’s the fifth estate and has been involved in the production of documentaries and stories from all over the world. His first novel, The Long Stretch, was published to tremendous critical acc...
Loading
Title:Long Stretch: A NovelFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:320 pages, 8 X 5.31 X 0.75 inShipping dimensions:320 pages, 8 X 5.31 X 0.75 inPublished:May 15, 2006Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:000639583X

ISBN - 13:9780006395836

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: