Look Book

Hardcover | August 19, 1997

byTana Hoban

not yet rated|write a review

Tana Hoban never ceases to mesmerize and stimulate her young admirers. Using her unmistakable full-color photographs and an intriguing die-cut format, she has created a striking concept book that will have young viewers scrutinizing and thinking about what they see -- and don't see. In the tradition of Just Look and Take Another Look, here is yet another window of discovery to our everyday world.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.96 online
$21.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From Our Editors

Using her unmistakable full-color photographs and an intriguing die-cut format, Tana Hoban, author/photographer of "Construction Zone" and "Animal, Vegetable, or Mineral?", has created a striking concept book that will have young viewers scrutinizing and thinking about what they see--and don't see

From the Publisher

Tana Hoban never ceases to mesmerize and stimulate her young admirers. Using her unmistakable full-color photographs and an intriguing die-cut format, she has created a striking concept book that will have young viewers scrutinizing and thinking about what they see -- and don't see. In the tradition of Just Look and Take Another Look, ...

Tana Hoban's photographs have been exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art in New York and in galleries around the world. She has won many gold medals and prizes for her work as a photographer and filmmaker. Her books for children are known and loved throughout the world.

other books by Tana Hoban

Black & White
Black & White

Board Book|Jan 2 2007

$9.88 online$9.99list price
White On Black
White On Black

Board Book|May 27 1993

$8.39 online$8.50list price
Cubes, Cones, Cylinders, & Spheres
Cubes, Cones, Cylinders, & Spheres

Hardcover|Sep 19 2000

$21.90 online$21.99list price
see all books by Tana Hoban
Format:HardcoverDimensions:40 pages, 8.5 × 11 × 0.25 inPublished:August 19, 1997Publisher:HarperCollins

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0688149715

ISBN - 13:9780688149710

Appropriate for ages: Baby - 2

Customer Reviews of Look Book

Reviews

Extra Content

From Our Editors

Using her unmistakable full-color photographs and an intriguing die-cut format, Tana Hoban, author/photographer of "Construction Zone" and "Animal, Vegetable, or Mineral?", has created a striking concept book that will have young viewers scrutinizing and thinking about what they see--and don't see

Editorial Reviews

Filled with bright, crisp photographs. Viewers first encounter a piece of an image, viewed through a small, die-cut circle on a black page. The full-color object--be it a flower, a pigeon, or a hot pretzel--is revealed with the turn of a page. Another turn of the page provides a larger view--a second photograph showing the more complete scene (a stand full of flowers, a flock of pigeons, a cart of pretzels). It's no secret that Hoban takes brilliant photographs and that her books are enjoyed by a wide variety of ages. This one is sure to be a crowd pleaser.... "--School Library Journal, 8/97 In the latest in her popular series of peek through the hole books, Hoban presents a dazzling assortment of color photographs that celebrate the rich detail of everyday things. Once again, the reader looks through a circle cut from a stark black page to view a small part of an object on the page beneath. Odd brown loops with white speckles turn out to be large, soft pretzels when the page is turned. Flip the page again, and the pretzels appear in a street vendor's display. With the exception of the pretzels, the photos feature things found mostly in nature--the feathers of a pigeon, the fur of a shaggy dog. Children will have fun guessing the identities of the objects, making the book particularly useful with small groups. But along with the fun, Hoban delivers an educational and enriching visual experience. --"Booklist, " 7/97"You may have seen this kind of book many times, but not this well done. The test of a book such as this is whether there's pleasure in rereading it. Hoban passes the test because there is so much to see, both in the incomplete and complete images, that thepleasure is not just trickery." "Chicago Tribune, " 9/14/97