Looking for the "Harp" Quartet: An Investigation into Musical Beauty by Markand Thakar

Looking for the "Harp" Quartet: An Investigation into Musical Beauty

byMarkand Thakar

Kobo ebook | January 30, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info

$23.99 online 
$29.99 list price save 20%

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


This book is a philosophical tour through the experience of beauty: what it is, and how the composer, performer, and listener all contribute. It explores -- with insight, patience, and humor -- profound issues at the essence of our experience. A student performance of Beethoven's String Quartet No. 10 in E-Flat Major, known as the "Harp," serves as a point of departure and a recurring theme. For the layperson the core of the book is five dialogues between Icarus, an inquiring student intensely concerned with fulfilling his highest potential as a musician, and Daedalus, a curmudgeonly, iconoclastic teacher who guides Icarus's search. Three technical articles, geared to the music professional and academic, treat the issues in greater depth.
Supplementary online audio files and musicalexamples.

Markand Thakar is Music Director of the Baltimore Chamber Orchestra, and a member of the graduate conducting faculty at the Peabody Conservatory of the Johns Hopkins University.
Title:Looking for the "Harp" Quartet: An Investigation into Musical BeautyFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:January 30, 2011Publisher:Boydell & Brewer Group LtdLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1782045732

ISBN - 13:9781782045731

Look for similar items by category: