Love Letters to the Dead: A Novel

Paperback | September 29, 2015

byAva Dellaira

not yet rated|write a review

It begins as an assignment for English class: Write a letter to a dead person. Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain because her sister, May, loved him. And he died young, just like May did. Soon, Laurel has a notebook full of letters to people like Janis Joplin, Amy Winehouse, Amelia Earhart, Heath Ledger, and more -- though she never gives a single one of them to her teacher. She writes about starting high school, navigating new friendships, falling in love for the first time, learning to live with her splintering family. And, finally, about the abuse she suffered while May was supposed to be looking out for her. Only then, once Laurel has written down the truth about what happened to herself, can she truly begin to accept what happened to May. And only when Laurel has begun to see her sister as the person she was -- lovely and amazing and deeply flawed -- can she begin to discover her own path in this stunning debut from Ava Dellaira, Love Letters to the Dead.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.40 online
$11.50 list price (save 9%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

It begins as an assignment for English class: Write a letter to a dead person. Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain because her sister, May, loved him. And he died young, just like May did. Soon, Laurel has a notebook full of letters to people like Janis Joplin, Amy Winehouse, Amelia Earhart, Heath Ledger, and more -- though she never gives a si...

Ava Dellaira is a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, where she was a Truman Capote Fellow. She grew up in Albuquerque, New Mexico, and received her undergraduate degree from the University of Chicago. Love Letters to the Dead is her debut novel. She currently lives in Santa Monica.

other books by Ava Dellaira

Love Letters to the Dead: (deutsche Ausgabe)
Love Letters to the Dead: (deutsche Ausgabe)

Kobo ebook|Feb 23 2015

$11.19 online$14.42list price(save 22%)
La vie, la mort, l'amour
La vie, la mort, l'amour

Kobo ebook|May 21 2014

$18.99

Love Letters to the Dead: Chapters 1-5
Love Letters to the Dead: Chapters 1-5

Kobo ebook|Dec 17 2013

$0.00

see all books by Ava Dellaira
Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8.22 × 5.53 × 0.94 inPublished:September 29, 2015Publisher:Square FishLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1250062969

ISBN - 13:9781250062963

Customer Reviews of Love Letters to the Dead: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"Reminiscent of Chbosky's The Perks of Being a Wallflower, this is powerfully emotional stuff." -BCCB"Dellaira's characters are authentically conceived and beautifully drawn." -The Horn Book"Best for teens who enjoyed Stephen Chbosky's The Perks of Being a Wallflower." -School Library Journal"Laurel and her friends' struggles and hard-won successes are poignant, and seeing Laurel begin to forgive herself and May is extremely moving." -Publishers Weekly"I simply loved this book. Love Letters to the Dead is more than a stunning debut. It is the announcement of a bold new literary voice." -Stephen Chbosky, author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower"A brilliant story about the courage it takes to keep living after your world falls apart. A heart-wrenching celebration of love and friendship and family." -Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak"With beautiful observations of where life can take us, from grieving to celebrating, disappointment to wonder, LOVE LETTERS TO THE DEAD is a love letter to living." -Jay Asher, author of 13 Reasons Why"Dear Ava Dellaira: Your book broke my heart, and pieced it back together. As with Kurt, Janis, Amelia and the others who are gone but still somehow here, LOVE LETTERS TO THE DEAD leaves an indelible mark." -Gayle Forman, author of If I Stay"As wondrous--and as fearless--as a shooting star." -Lauren Myracle, author, The Winnie Years"Riveting, captivating, utterly disarming. I could not put this book down! LOVE LETTERS TO THE DEAD is like discovering a shoebox full of notes addressed to someone else. I read fast, afraid I'd be caught peeking at something I wasn't ever supposed to see. A voyeuristic delight!" -Siobhan Vivian, author of The List"Effective and satisfyingly heartbreaking." -Kirkus Reviews"Well paced and cleverly plotted, this debut uses a fresh, new voice to tell a sometimes sad, sometimes edgy, but always compelling narrative. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, get ready."-Booklist, starred review