Lukas Foss: A Bio-Bibliography by Karen L. PeroneLukas Foss: A Bio-Bibliography by Karen L. Perone

Lukas Foss: A Bio-Bibliography

byKaren L. Perone

Hardcover | March 1, 1991

Pricing and Purchase Info

$83.52 online 
$94.95 list price save 12%
Earn 418 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Lukas Foss's career encompasses the worlds of composition, conducting, performing, teaching, and the organization of major music festivals. His compositional style defies classification; he has used every form of twentieth century style, from neo-classicism to avant-garde, in his works. Karen Perone's bio-bibliography covers Lukas Foss as composer, author, conductor, and performer. This single comprehensive source includes biographical information; bibliographical citations to reviews of compositions, performances, and recordings; general bibliographical citations; discographical citations to compositions by Foss as well as to works conducted and performed by him; and a listing of the numerous awards and honors he has received. It is fully indexed to make it a useful reference tool for scholars and librarians alike.
Title:Lukas Foss: A Bio-BibliographyFormat:HardcoverDimensions:296 pages, 9.41 × 7.24 × 0.98 inPublished:March 1, 1991Publisher:GREENWOOD PRESS INC.

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0313268118

ISBN - 13:9780313268113

Look for similar items by category:


Editorial Reviews

?This new member of Greenwood's "Bio-Bibliographies in Music" fills a gap in reference by providing, in one volume, bibliographic access to a wealth of scattered materials. No previous in-depth treatment of Foss exists, despite his fame and obvious importance to American music. Perone has, however, unearthed an impressive amount of writing about Foss in the form of reviews, articles in newspapers, periodicals, and books. The annotations are informative and, in the "Works and Performances" section, provide quotes of reviews. This allows the reader to obtain a quick, but quite thorough overview of Foss's critical reception over the years as well as critical reactions to individual works. The biographical statement provides an excellent overview of the major events in Foss's life and career. Since Foss worked closely with the author in the preparation of this book it is all the more valuable and will be a most welcome addition to music reference literature. Highly recommended for college and university libraries and larger public libraries with music collections.?-Choice