Mademoiselle Chanel: A Novel by C. W. GortnerMademoiselle Chanel: A Novel by C. W. Gortner

Mademoiselle Chanel: A Novel

byC. W. Gortner

Paperback | December 29, 2015

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.32 online 
$19.99 list price save 18%
Earn 82 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman’s daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century.

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to orphanage after their mother’s death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle’s exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood.

Transforming herself into Coco—a seamstress and sometime torch singer—the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny.

Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco’s reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her.

An enthralling novel of an extraordinary woman who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark.

About The Author

A former fashion executive, C. W. Gortner is a lifelong admirer of Coco Chanel. His passion for writing led him to give up fashion, and his many historical novels have been bestsellers, published in more than twenty countries. He lives in San Francisco.
The Vatican Princess: A Novel Of Lucrezia Borgia
The Vatican Princess: A Novel Of Lucrezia Borgia

by C. W. Gortner

$29.13$36.00

In stock online

Available in stores

The Confessions Of Catherine De Medici: A Novel
The Confessions Of Catherine De Medici: A Novel

by C. W. Gortner

$17.00

In stock online

Available in stores

The Queen's Vow: A Novel Of Isabella Of Castile
The Queen's Vow: A Novel Of Isabella Of Castile

by C. W. Gortner

$18.04$22.00

In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:Mademoiselle Chanel: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:432 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.97 inPublished:December 29, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062356437

ISBN - 13:9780062356437

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Mademoiselle Chanel: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Gortner brings history to life in a fascinating study of one woman’s unstoppable ambition.”