Man of the Year

June 11, 2019|
Man of the Year by Caroline Louise Walker
$35.00
Hardcover
Earn 175 plum® points
Ships free on orders over $35

In stock online

Available in stores

To see store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

Beware the Man of the Year. You may praise him, resent him, even want to be him: but beneath the elegant trappings that define him, danger looms. Caroline Louise Walker’s stunning debut novel, for fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinner and Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door, delves into the increasingly paranoid mind of a man whose life as the most upstanding of citizens hides a relentlessly dark heart.

Dr. Robert Hart, Sag Harbor’s just-named Man of the Year, is the envy of his friends and neighbors. His medical practice is thriving. He has a beautiful old house and a beautiful new wife and a beautiful boat docked in the village marina. Even his wayward son, Jonah, is back on track, doing well at school, finally worthy of his father’s attentions. So when Jonah’s troubled college roommate, Nick, needs a place to stay for the summer, Hart and his wife generously offer him their guest house. A win-win: Jonah will have someone to hang with, and his father can bask in the warm glow of his own generosity.

When Robert suspects his new houseguest of getting a little too close to his wife, the good doctor’s veneer begins to crack and all the little lies he tells start to mount. Before long, he’s embroiled in a desperate downward spiral, threatening to destroy anyone who stands in his way. It’s only the women in his life—his devoted office manager, his friends, his wife—who can clearly see the truth.

Biting and timely, Man of the Year races along at an electric pace, building to a wicked twist you won't see coming.
Title:Man of the YearFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:304 pages, 9 X 6 X 1 inShipping dimensions:304 pages, 9 X 6 X 1 inPublished:June 11, 2019Publisher:Gallery BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1982100451

ISBN - 13:9781982100452

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: