Map Of Fates by Maggie HallMap Of Fates by Maggie Hall

Map Of Fates

byMaggie Hall

Hardcover | March 8, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.69 online 
$23.99 list price save 5%
Earn 113 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

“A Da Vinci Code–style thriller for teens? Yes please.”—TeenVogue.com

Two weeks.

That’s how long it took for Avery West’s ordinary life to change forever. In two weeks, she discovered she was heiress to a powerful secret society known as the Circle, learned her mother was taken hostage by the Circle’s enemies, and fell for a boy she's not allowed to love, just as she found out another was her unwelcome destiny.

Now Avery crosses oceans in private jets to hunt for clues that will uncover the truth about the Circle, setting her mom and herself free before it's too late. By her side are both the boys: Jack—steady, loyal, and determined to help her even at the expense of his own duty—and Stellan, whose connection to Avery grows stronger by the day, making her question what she believes at every turn.
 
But at the end of a desperate hunt from the islands of Greece to the red carpet at Cannes comes a discovery that not only changes everything, but could bring the whole world to its knees. And now Avery is forced to face the truth: In the world of the Circle, no one is what they seem.
Maggie Hall indulges her obsession with distant lands and far-flung adventures as often as she can. She has played with baby tigers in Thailand, learned to make homemade pasta in Italy, and taken thousands of miles of trains through the vibrant countryside of India. In her past life, she was a bookstore events coordinator and marketing...
The Ends Of The World
The Ends Of The World

by Maggie Hall

$20.69$23.99

In stock online

Available in stores

The Conspiracy Of Us
The Conspiracy Of Us

by Maggie Hall

$13.99

In stock online

Available in stores

Also An Octopus
Also An Octopus

by Maggie Tokuda-hall

$22.56$23.00

In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author
Title:Map Of FatesFormat:HardcoverDimensions:320 pages, 8.56 × 5.81 × 1.13 inPublished:March 8, 2016Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0399166513

ISBN - 13:9780399166518

Customer Reviews of Map Of Fates

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from All. The. Praise. (All of it.) This book is quite honestly one of the best sequels I have EVER read. So well done. Map of Fates is so, so good. Like, The Conspiracy of Us was phenomenal, but Map of Fates was the best of the best (that made no sense). It was holy grail, what even, #icanteven... LIKE WHAT EVEN EVERYONE NEEDS IT IN THEIR LIVES. I think that's all I can say without spoiling it or The Conspiracy of Us. Just know that I will be singing all the praise for this book for the rest of my life. It was quite possibly *the* book of 2016. Just go pick it up already.
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can't wait for the last book in the Trilogy I really liked the character development that a lot of the secondary characters showed in this book, i.e. Elodie. My favourite character was STELLAN in this book even though love interest wise for Avery, I preferred her and Jack together while reading the first book. This book was way more slowly paced than the first book, at least in my opinion. The second half of the book was meant to be very fast paced but didn't feel like it. There was a lot of action and things happening but they were written in too vaguely that I almost missed certain events, or had to backtrack and re-read certain parts. But ultimately that ending made up for everything, since it was unexpected.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intense & Absolutely Unpredictable One of my favourite books last year was Maggie Hall's debut novel The Conspiracy of Us. A thrilling page-turner and international caper, it was the kind of book that captivated me from beginning to end... and left me desperately yearning for the next book to already be in my hands. How could the sequel live up to my high expectations? I needn't have worried, though. Maggie Hall delivers a stunning sequel filled with new shocking revelations, more international locales, and stolen kisses that practically set the pages on fire. Two weeks. It took two weeks for Avery's life to irrevocably change when she was suddenly thrust into a world of conspiracy theories, immense wealth, and powerful secret societies. To learn she was the key to an ancient prophecy that could change the fate of the world. And now she has two weeks to save her mother. The Order has kidnapped Avery's mom, threatening to kill her if Avery can't locate Alexander the Great's tomb and a weapon believed to be found within. Her only clue is a bracelet that once belonged to Napoleon Bonaparte, and an inscription indicating it's part of a matching set. But where could the second bracelet possibly be hidden? Avery is doing the best she can to hold it all together. Everyone wants to control her; the Order isn't the only secret society trying to force her into action. The Circle of Twelve would love to see the girl with purple eyes married to the One, thus fulfilling their ancient mandate, but Avery is hardly ready for marriage. She values her autonomy, her right to make her own choices, but both the Circle and the Order threaten to take it all away. Avery's stressed and scared, unsure if she'll be able to decipher Napoleon's clues in time, but thankfully, she's not alone. Jack and Stellan are constants at her side, two very different boys she must trust to help her as they race against time and travel across Europe and Asia. And let me tell you, the romance absolutely heats up in this book. Sure, Jack is protective and steadfast, but we get to know Stellan so much better in Map of Fates and now there's only room for him in my heart. Sorry, not sorry, Jack. I absolutely LOVED Maggie Hall's Map of Fates. More danger. More suspense. More everything. This was an intense, absolutely unpredictable sequel. And the crazy ending is another complete game-changer! I totally gasped in shock, and then frantically checked if there was more pages to read. I need to know what happens next! I'm definitely highly anticipating the final book in the trilogy.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intense & Absolutely Unpredictable One of my favourite books last year was Maggie Hall's debut novel The Conspiracy of Us. A thrilling page-turner and international caper, it was the kind of book that captivated me from beginning to end... and left me desperately yearning for the next book to already be in my hands. How could the sequel live up to my high expectations? I needn't have worried, though. Maggie Hall delivers a stunning sequel filled with new shocking revelations, more international locales, and stolen kisses that practically set the pages on fire. Two weeks. It took two weeks for Avery's life to irrevocably change when she was suddenly thrust into a world of conspiracy theories, immense wealth, and powerful secret societies. To learn she was the key to an ancient prophecy that could change the fate of the world. And now she has two weeks to save her mother. The Order has kidnapped Avery's mom, threatening to kill her if Avery can't locate Alexander the Great's tomb and a weapon believed to be found within. Her only clue is a bracelet that once belonged to Napoleon Bonaparte, and an inscription indicating it's part of a matching set. But where could the second bracelet possibly be hidden? Avery is doing the best she can to hold it all together. Everyone wants to control her; the Order isn't the only secret society trying to force her into action. The Circle of Twelve would love to see the girl with purple eyes married to the One, thus fulfilling their ancient mandate, but Avery is hardly ready for marriage. She values her autonomy, her right to make her own choices, but both the Circle and the Order threaten to take it all away. Avery's stressed and scared, unsure if she'll be able to decipher Napoleon's clues in time, but thankfully, she's not alone. Jack and Stellan are constants at her side, two very different boys she must trust to help her as they race against time and travel across Europe and Asia. And let me tell you, the romance absolutely heats up in this book. Sure, Jack is protective and steadfast, but we get to know Stellan so much better in Map of Fates and now there's only room for him in my heart. Sorry, not sorry, Jack. I absolutely LOVED Maggie Hall's Map of Fates. More danger. More suspense. More everything. This was an intense, absolutely unpredictable sequel. And the crazy ending is another complete game-changer! I totally gasped in shock, and then frantically checked if there was more pages to read. I need to know what happens next! I'm definitely highly anticipating the final book in the trilogy.
Date published: 2016-04-26

Editorial Reviews

"Map Of Fates is a fusion of familiar romance, fantasy, and adventure tropes."--VOYAPraise for The Conspiracy of Us: “A Da Vinci Code-style thriller for teens? Yes please.”—TeenVogue.com “An intense page turner filled with intrigue, lush settings and a dash of romance. This is a one-sitting read.”—Hypable.com “This is such a fun, wild read. . . . I recommend this for anyone looking for adventure, spice, forbidden romance and very powerful families who rule behind the scenes. Oh, and conspiracies, lots and lots of conspiracies.”—USAToday.com  “A cinematic, puzzle-solving action-adventure that . . . will appeal to those who want puzzles and action mixed with their fashion and romance.”—Kirkus Reviews “Hall’s worldbuilding is as enthralling as the best fantasy sagas, even though it is a world within our own. Her characters are captivating, again cleverly mixing believability with the outrageous demands of her conspiracy. The puzzle and mystery of her plot will draw readers in . . . This is a fun, fast read.” —VOYA “This fine mix of adventure and romance will easily pull readers into a world of just-believable-enough conspiracy theories, while a cliff-hanger ending will leave them eagerly awaiting the next installment of the adventure.”—Booklist “Thrilling and addictive, Hall’s debut is a knockout! . . . This is an outstanding novel by an impressive author to watch.”—RT Book Reviews “Hall sweeps readers into a world of conspiracies, puzzles, and mystery from the first page, and provides a likable and intelligent narrator in Avery. Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan’s The Red Pyramid, Ally Carter’s Gallagher Girls series, and Michael Scott’s The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel.”—School Library JournalFrom the Trade Paperback edition.