Marked by Laura Williams McCaffreyMarked by Laura Williams McCaffrey

Marked

byLaura Williams McCaffrey

Hardcover | February 16, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$25.50

Earn 128 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Sixteen-year-old Lyla lives in a bleak, controlling society where only the brightest and most favored students succeed. When she is caught buying cheats in an underground shadow market, she is tattooed-marked-as a criminal. Then she is offered redemption and she jumps at the chance . . . but it comes at a cost. Doing what is right means betraying the boy she has come to love, and, perhaps, losing even more than she thought possible. Graphic novel-style vignettes revealing the history of this world provide Lyla with guidance and clues to a possible way out of the double bind she finds herself in.
Laura Williams McCaffrey is author of Water Shaper and Alia Waking . She is on faculty at Solstice, an MFA in Creative Writing Program at Pine Manor College, and lives in Vermont with her family. Visit her website at www.laurawilliamsmccaffrey.com.
Loading
Title:MarkedFormat:HardcoverDimensions:368 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.23 inPublished:February 16, 2016Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0547235569

ISBN - 13:9780547235561

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

McCaffrey creates a world that blends steampunk with political intrigue in a faintly Celtic setting. Lyla is a flawed heroine who becomes endearing as she struggles to recognize the good guys in her life." -VOYA "McCaffrey's society has a Dickensian feel to it, with a heaving, discontented underclass dominated by the barons who control the source of power and the inventors who wield it. An original, textured page-turner." -Kirkus "The strength of the characters, especially the strong female protagonist, allows teens to fully engage with Lyla and her struggles. Full of fast-paced action and ethical quandaries, this work will appeal to fans of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Carrie Ryan's The Forest of Hands and Teeth . . . . top-notch characters and a cool premise." -SLJ "