Master Kierkegaard: Fall / Winter / Spring 1847-1848 by Ellen BrownMaster Kierkegaard: Fall / Winter / Spring 1847-1848 by Ellen Brown

Master Kierkegaard: Fall / Winter / Spring 1847-1848

byEllen Brown

Hardcover | June 1, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$39.60 online 
$44.50 list price save 11%
Earn 198 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


In this second volume of Master Kierkegaard, the fictional German maidservant Magda continues to record her relationship with Scripture, literature, and her elusive yet compelling master. Three journals set in the fall, winter, and ""peoples"" spring of 1847 and 1848 reflect the precariousness of Magda's position in the household and the rapidly changing social landscape, at the same time as Kierkegaard began, revised, or completed several of his most existential and prophetic works.""Through the changing of the seasons in a year of revolutions, a maidservant reflects on the Bible . . . and the anguish and hope of her master, the Danish philosopher Soren Kierkegaard. Ellen Brown has crafted an understated, heartfelt, and moving meditation on the enigmatic man, religion, the position of women in society, and a life of exile and liberation.""--Marshall Brown, Professor of Comparative Literature at the University of Washington, editor of Modern Language Quarterly, and author of The Shape of German Romanticism""Readers of Magda's diary from the summer of 1847 will be delighted with these journals, which continue her life story alongside her continuing reflections on Scripture, literature, and life. Like the first volume, this collection is filled with spiritual insight and wisdom. The life story takes a surprising turn, or was it to be expected? Magda's characterization of Kierkegaard is poetic and convincing.""--Adela Yarbro Collins, Buckingham Professor of New Testament Criticism and Interpretation at Yale Divinity School Ellen Brown lives in Connecticut. Her publications prior to Master Kierkegaard include essays on Percy Shelley's Prometheus Unbound and Mary Shelley's Frankenstein.
Title:Master Kierkegaard: Fall / Winter / Spring 1847-1848Format:HardcoverDimensions:152 pages, 8 × 5 × 0.38 inPublished:June 1, 2012Publisher:Wipf and Stock PublishersLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1498213227

ISBN - 13:9781498213226