Masters of American Cookery: M. F. K. Fisher, James Beard, Craig Claiborne, Julia Child

byBetty FussellIntroduction byBetty Fussell

January 1, 2006|
Masters of American Cookery: M. F. K. Fisher, James Beard, Craig Claiborne, Julia Child by Betty Fussell
$40.95
Paperback
Earn 205 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

Ever since American soldiers returned home after World War II with a passion for pâté and escargots instead of pork and beans, our preferences have moved from cooked to raw, from canned to fresh, from bland to savory, from water to wine. And guiding us through our culinary revolution have been four of the world''s finest food experts: Julia Child, Craig Claiborne, James Beard, and M. F. K. Fisher.
 
In Masters of American Cookery, Betty Fussell demonstrates vividly how each of these chefs has made a unique and invaluable contribution to the American way of cooking and eating. In more than two hundred recipes—in chapters on appetizers, soups, salads, sauces, meats, poultry, fish, breads, cheeses and wines, and desserts—Fussell shares the artistry of these culinary masters. She also traces the evolution of each dish and provides insightful, often witty asides about the origins of the recipes.
 
In the tradition of Waverley Root and M. F. K. Fisher herself, Fussell has combined elements of history, memoir, and the cookbook to create a food lover’s delight. As entertaining as it is instructive, Masters of American Cookery belongs on the bookshelf of anyone who cares about good food. Fussell provides a preface for this Bison Books edition.
Betty Fussell is the author of ten books, ranging from biography to cookbooks, memoir, and food history, including The Story of Corn. Her volume of memoirs, My Kitchen Wars, was performed as a one-woman show in New York and Los Angeles.
Loading
Title:Masters of American Cookery: M. F. K. Fisher, James Beard, Craig Claiborne, Julia Child
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:426 pages, 8.93 X 6.02 X 0.85 in
Shipping dimensions:426 pages, 8.93 X 6.02 X 0.85 in
Published:January 1, 2006
Publisher:UNP - Bison Books
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9780803269200

Recently Viewed
|