Matthew Barney: Otto Trilogy

byMatthew BarneyIntroduction byNancy SpectorContribution byMaggie Nelson

Hardcover | October 25, 2016

Matthew Barney: Otto Trilogy by Matthew Barney
$65.41 online 
$84.50 list price
Earn 327 plum® points
Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Not available in stores


A generously illustrated look at the intricate narrative threads of three of the artist’s earliest works, and their continued resonance today

Celebrated for works blending performance, video, and sculpture, Matthew Barney has created complex narratives that emerge across series since his earliest exhibitions. Matthew Barney: OTTO Trilogy is the first book to trace the progression of three significant early projects—Facility of INCLINE, Facility of DECLINE, and OTTOshaft— and to reveal the narrative system that links them. Titled after former football player Jim Otto, the series explores the training, discipline, and physical limits of the body alongside questions of sexual difference and desire. Featuring an illuminating introduction by Nancy Spector; an essay by Maggie Nelson on the works’ exploration of psychology, bodies, image-making, narrative, and abstraction; and a new text by the artist, this generously illustrated volume includes previously unpublished artist’s sketches, behind-the-scenes photographs, research material, and video stills. It is the definitive publication on this important series, and offers a key to understanding many of the themes that thread throughout Barney’s oeuvre.
Title:Matthew Barney: Otto TrilogyFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:200 pages, 8 X 11 X 0.98 inShipping dimensions:200 pages, 8 X 11 X 0.98 inPublished:October 25, 2016Publisher:Yale University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0300223692

ISBN - 13:9780300223699

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: