Medicine Walk

Medicine Walk

Hardcover | April 1, 2014

byRichard Wagamese

not yet rated|write a review

By the celebrated author of Canada Reads Finalist Indian Horse, a stunning new novel that has all the timeless qualities of a classic, as it tells the universal story of a father/son struggle in a fresh, utterly memorable way, set in dramatic landscape of the BC Interior. For male and female readers equally, for readers of Joseph Boyden, Cormac McCarthy, Thomas King, Russell Banks and general literary.
      Franklin Starlight is called to visit his father, Eldon. He's sixteen years old and has had the most fleeting of relationships with the man. The rare moments they've shared haunt and trouble Frank, but he answers the call, a son's duty to a father. He finds Eldon decimated after years of drinking, dying of liver failure in a small town flophouse. Eldon asks his son to take him into the mountains, so he may be buried in the traditional Ojibway manner.
     What ensues is a journey through the rugged and beautiful backcountry, and a journey into the past, as the two men push forward to Eldon's end. From a poverty-stricken childhood, to the Korean War, and later the derelict houses of mill towns, Eldon relates both the desolate moments of his life and a time of redemption and love and in doing so offers Frank a history he has never known, the father he has never had, and a connection to himself he never expected.
     A novel about love, friendship, courage, and the idea that the land has within it powers of healing, Medicine Walk reveals the ultimate goodness of its characters and offers a deeply moving and redemptive conclusion.
     Wagamese's writing soars and his insight and compassion are matched by his gift of communicating these to the reader.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.67 online
$29.95 list price
Out of stock online

Medicine Walk

Hardcover | April 1, 2014
Out of stock online Not available in stores
$22.67 online $29.95

From the Publisher

  By the celebrated author of Canada Reads Finalist Indian Horse, a stunning new novel that has all the timeless qualities of a classic, as it tells the universal story of a father/son struggle in a fresh, utterly memorable way, set in dramatic landscape of the BC Interior. For male and female readers equally, for readers of Joseph Boy...

RICHARD WAGAMESE is one of Canada's foremost writers. He's been a newspaper columnist and reporter, radio and television broadcaster and producer, documentary producer, and the author of twelve previous novels, including Keeper'n Me and Indian Horse which was a recent Canada Reads Finalist. He is also the author of acclaimed memoirs, ...

other books by Richard Wagamese

Indian Horse
Indian Horse

Paperback|Jan 27 2012

$19.63 online$21.95list price(save 10%)
One Native Life
One Native Life

Paperback|Feb 23 2009

$19.94 online$19.95list price
Ragged Company
Ragged Company

Paperback|Oct 6 2009

$15.50 online$21.95list price(save 29%)
see all books by Richard Wagamese
Format:HardcoverDimensions:256 pages, 8.5 × 5.7 × 1 inPublished:April 1, 2014Publisher:McClelland & StewartLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:077108918X

ISBN - 13:9780771089183

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“With Medicine Walk, Richard Wagamese has become a master. This brilliant novel is his heart song, his crowning achievement thus far.” – Joseph Boyden “In Medicine Walk, Wagamese manages the nuances of betrayal and redemption with uncommon artistry.  It is a breathtaking novel of sorrow, hope and polished steel.” – Thomas King “A deeply felt and profoundly moving novel, written in the kind of sure, clear prose that brings to mind the work of the great North American masters; Steinbeck among them. But Wagamese's voice and vision are also completely his own, as is the important and powerful story he has to tell.” – Jane Urquhart “Medicine Walk recounts the mythic journey of an estranged father and son who are searching for reconciliation and love. Richard Wagamese’s novel renders the Canadian wilderness with staggering insight and beauty.  The same can be said for his understanding of the fragility, wildness and resilience of the human heart. Magnificent.”  – Lisa Moore “Medicine Walk is a masterpiece, a work of art that explores human interconnectedness with a level of artistry so superb that the personal becomes eternal.” – National Post “A moving story…. Wagamese balances the novel’s spiritual and political subtexts with sly humour, sharp, believable dialogue and superb storytelling skills. Medicine Walk is a major accomplishment from an author who has become one of Canada’s best novelists.” – Toronto Star “This is very much a novel about the role of stories in our lives, those we tell ourselves about ourselves and those we agree to live by…. Wagamese understands that the stories we don’t tell are as important as the ones we do….But Medicine Walk is also testament to the redemptive power of love and compassion.” – Globe and Mail “One of the finest novels of the year…. Medicine Walk is not only a graceful book, it is a novel of grace, of coming to terms with hidden truths, of coming to know the secrets behind forbidding appearances, of finding the humanity within strangers.” – Vancouver Sun “An essential read…. Superbly written.” – Now Magazine (NNNN)