Medicine Walk

March 3, 2015|
Medicine Walk by Richard Wagamese
see the collectionIndigenous Voices: Fiction
$19.95
Paperback
Earn 100 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

"One of the finest novels of the year." (Vancouver Sun) By the celebrated author of Canada Reads finalist Indian Horse, this is an unforgettable journey of a father and son, set in dramatic landscape of the BC Interior. For male and female readers equally, for readers of Joseph Boyden, Cormac McCarthy, Thomas King, Russell Banks and general literary fiction.
     Franklin Starlight is called to visit his father, Eldon. He''s sixteen years old and has had the most fleeting of relationships with the man. The rare moments they''ve shared haunt and trouble Frank, but he answers the call, a son''s duty to a father. What ensues is a journey through the rugged and beautiful backcountry, and a journey into the past, as the two men push forward to Eldon''s end. From a poverty-stricken childhood, to the Korean War, and later the derelict houses of mill towns, Eldon relates both the desolate moments of his life and a time of redemption and love, and in doing so offers Frank a history he has never known, the father he has never had, and a connection to himself he never expected.
     A novel about love, friendship, courage, and the idea that the land has within it powers of healing, Medicine Walk reveals the ultimate goodness of its characters and offers a deeply moving and redemptive conclusion. Wagamese''s writing soars and his insight and compassion are matched by his gift of communicating these to the reader.
RICHARD WAGAMESE is one of Canada''s foremost writers and the author of twelve previous novels, including Keeper''n Me and Indian Horse, a recent Canada Reads Finalist. He is also the author of acclaimed memoirs, including For Joshua; the bestselling One Native Life; and, One Story, One Song, which won the George Ryga Award for Social ...
Loading
Title:Medicine Walk
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:256 pages, 7.98 X 5.19 X 0.59 in
Shipping dimensions:256 pages, 7.98 X 5.19 X 0.59 in
Published:March 3, 2015
Publisher:McClelland & Stewart
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9780771089213

Recently Viewed
|