Michelangelo: A Tormented Life by Antonio ForcellinoMichelangelo: A Tormented Life by Antonio Forcellino

Michelangelo: A Tormented Life

byAntonio Forcellino

Paperback | October 10, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 120 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


This major new biography recounts the extraordinary life of one of the most creative figures in Western culture, weaving together the multiple threads of Michelangelo's life and times with a brilliant analysis of his greatest works. The author retraces Michelangelo's journey from Rome to Florence, explores his changing religious views and examines the complicated politics of patronage in Renaissance Italy. The psychological portrait of Michelangelo is constantly foregrounded, depicting with great conviction a tormented man, solitary and avaricious, burdened with repressed homosexuality and a surplus of creative enthusiasm. Michelangelo's acts of self-representation and his pivotal role in constructing his own myth are compellingly unveiled.

Antonio Forcellino is one of the world's leading authorities on Michelangelo and an expert art historian and restorer. He has been involved in the restoration of numerous masterpieces, including Michelangelo's Moses. He combines his firsthand knowledge of Michelangelo's work with a lively literary style to draw the reader into the very heart of Michelangelo's genius.
Antonio Forcellino is an Art Historian and Restorer.
Title:Michelangelo: A Tormented LifeFormat:PaperbackDimensions:300 pages, 9 × 6 × 1 inPublished:October 10, 2011Publisher:WileyLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0745640060

ISBN - 13:9780745640068

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

List of Figures


Chapter One – Childhood

Chapter Two – The Youthful Genius

Chapter Three – At the Court of Julius II

Chapter Four – Back and forth between Rome and


Chapter Five – At the call of the Medicis

Chapter Six – Michelangelo’s glasses

Chapter Seven – The Pauline Chapel

Chapter Eight – No more illusions