Midnight Blue: A Gripping Historical Novel About The Birth Of Delft Pottery, Set In The Dutch Golden Age by Simone Van Der VlugtMidnight Blue: A Gripping Historical Novel About The Birth Of Delft Pottery, Set In The Dutch Golden Age by Simone Van Der Vlugt

Midnight Blue: A Gripping Historical Novel About The Birth Of Delft Pottery, Set In The Dutch…

bySimone Van Der Vlugt

Paperback | June 20, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.58 online 
$16.99 list price
Earn 78 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Available in stores

about

Amsterdam 1654: a dangerous secret threatens to destroy a young widow's new life.Following the sudden death of her husband, twenty-five year old Catrin leaves her small village and takes a job as housekeeper to the successful Van Nulandt merchant family. Amsterdam is a city at the peak of its powers: science and art are flourishing in the Golden Age and Dutch ships bring back exotic riches from the Far East.When a figure from her past threatens her new life, Catrin flees to Delft. There, her painting talent earns her a chance as a pottery painter. Slowly, the workshop begins to develop a new type of pottery to rival the coveted Chinese porcelain - and Delft Blue is born. But when tragedy strikes, Catrin has a hard choice to make.Rich and engrossing, Midnight Blue is perfect for fans of Tulip Fever and Girl with a Pearl Earring.
Simone van der Vlugt is an acclaimed Dutch writer, whose books have sold over 2 million copies. She lives with her husband and two children in Alkmaar.
Loading
Title:Midnight Blue: A Gripping Historical Novel About The Birth Of Delft Pottery, Set In The Dutch…Format:PaperbackDimensions:336 pagesPublished:June 20, 2017Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0008212104

ISBN - 13:9780008212100

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Should be marketed as YA fiction I can't say for sure if it's a case of poor translation from Dutch, or plain old poor writing, but this book is terrible! Maybe, maybe the young adult might enjoy this book, but I doubt even they would want to slog through the slow pace. The "Dutch Golden Age" (the days of Rembrandt and Vermeer) was a fascinating time, and a great setting for a historical novel, just not this one.
Date published: 2018-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gripping Story This is a great story with a bit of education wrapped in one. I would recommend this book to anyone who has a special place in their heart for blue and white pottery or patterns, or any artist who is interested in a little art history. Not only did i enjoy the story but i learned a bit as well.
Date published: 2018-03-24

Editorial Reviews

'A fascinating portrait of Holland at the height of its artistic and economic power.a wonderful place for lovers of historical fiction to visit, populated by great artists, intrepid explorers and enterprising merchants.' Publishers Weekly'A beautiful story about the fate of a seventeenth-century young woman and the early days of the blue-and-white pottery from Delft' Netherlands Daily'Van der Vlugt has immersed herself in the pottery painting of the time and weaves fact and fiction into a gripping story.' Leiden Daily'A great historical novel, with thriller aspects and romance.' Biepmiepje'The local colour, the fascinating story, the interesting history, definitely for me born in Delft, means you read MIDNIGHT BLUE in one sitting.' book bloggers netherlands