Midshipman's Hope by David FeintuchMidshipman's Hope by David Feintuch

Midshipman's Hope

byDavid Feintuch

Paperback | June 14, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.15 online 
$23.50 list price save 10%
Earn 106 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

First in the military science fiction series that does “an excellent job of transferring Hornblower to interstellar space. A thoroughly enjoyable read” (David Drake).

In the year 2194, seventeen-year-old Nicholas Seafort is assigned to the Hibernia as a lowly midshipman. Destination: the thriving colony of Hope Nation. But when a rescue attempt goes devastatingly wrong, Seafort is thrust into a leadership role he never anticipated. The other officers resent him, but Seafort must handle more dangerous problems, from a corrupted navigation computer to a deadly epidemic. Even Hope Nation has a nasty surprise in store. Seafort might be the crew’s only hope . . .
 
This page-turning science fiction in the vein of Robert Heinlein and Orson Scott Card—with a dash of Horatio Hornblower—marks the captivating debut adventure in Feintuch’s hugely popular Seafort Saga.
David Feintuch (1944–2006) was the author of the award-winning military science fiction Seafort Saga series, which spans Midshipman’s Hope, Challenger’s Hope, Prisoner’s Hope, Fisherman’s Hope, Voices of Hope, Patriarch’s Hope, and Children of Hope. Feintuch came to writing late, previously having worked as a lawyer and antiques dealer...
Loading
Title:Midshipman's HopeFormat:PaperbackDimensions:440 pages, 8 × 5.25 × 0.68 inPublished:June 14, 2016Publisher:Open Road MediaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1504036425

ISBN - 13:9781504036429

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really, really enjoyed this book! This space tale of how a midshipman suddenly became a captain of an interstellar starship is a great read.- I couldn't put it down. I both loved and loathed the main character of Nicholas Seafort and thoroughly enjoyed the adventure of the story. I was completely sucked in by David Feintuch's wonderful writing style. If you like Ender's Game or other military sci-fi you will enjoy this one!
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Midshipman's Hope It's a little tough to get into the characters at first but we'll worth the time investment. Solid story with a rewarding ending.
Date published: 2014-08-13

Editorial Reviews

“[Midshipman’s Hope] is a delightful book, intelligent and carefully written.” —The Washington Post Book World
 
“An excellent job of transferring Hornblower to interstellar space. A thoroughly enjoyable read.” —David Drake